Armed robbers raid four banks in Ikare-Ondo State, set one on fire | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 May 2012

Armed robbers raid four banks in Ikare-Ondo State, set one on fire

For those who haven't seen the photos, here they are. Armed robbers two nights ago attacked four banks in Ikare-Akoko, with explosive devices. The men arrived late at night on Monday April 30th and operated for hours without hindrance. They managed to break into the vaults of three banks using the explosive devices but were unable to penetrate the vault belonging to First Bank. They burnt down the first bank branch before leaving.

36 comments:

Mordi said...

Na wa ooo for this country. Same thing happened in owerri some weeks ago. Our security outfits are useless.

well first bank has meritoriously shown strenght in adversity so all roads should lead to 1st bank...by the way..the robbers were boko haram members.....raising funds more explosives.......my own thinking though

Atobatele said...

And the policemen on duty took to their heels sensing the superior fire power of the armed robbers....funny enough, the IGP wants to take away assault rifles and replace them with rubber bullets to combat crime.... Well no matter how much Nigerian Police are equipped, these women can not combat armed robbers. Imagine each time the Police took to their heels due sophisticated fire power of the armed robbers. Which fire-power is more than the APC. Nigerian Police are cowards even when armed robbers throw knock-out carbides they take to their heels. If it is intimidating, harassing and extortion of unarmed law-abiding citizens, the Nigerian Police will start acting like a lion. Facing armed robbers, they act like lamb or antelope on the run. It is sad that Nigeria has been taken over by criminals. If it is not boko haram killing innocent people, it is armed robbers looting banks, homes and killing people. Then you have those in high government offices stealing billions of Naira. All these havoc are being carried out with impunity and undeterred. Nigeria is at the cross road.

LPS said...

na wa o
http://personalstuvs.blogspot.com

the white enchantress said...

its and inside job sorry to say this..........i pity banks bc all those you are sacking and retrenching are the same ones behind this robberies.

Fatimah said...

Oh dear... same thing they did at OOU (and some parts of Ogun state) early this year; raided all the banks (blew up the security doors with dynamites). I guess they have moved from Ogun to Ondo.

Security situation in this country? Deplorable!

You read my thoughts

EMY said...

NIGERIA IS A FAILED STATE. LET'S KEEP PRETENDING IT IS NOT UNTIL IT CONSUMES US ALL.

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Sigh!

My lecturer died around one of the raided banks (stray bullet). his church was closer to one of the banks and they were holding a vigil before the attack
The "irony" of it was that We (500level) wrote his exam (semiconductor technology) today and we heard the "rumor" in the exam hall
He came back last year september after completing his Phd abroad. He's the best lecturer Ever (a father, an uncle, a brother, a friend and a teacher all in one). He was soo humble and soooo brilliant. His numerous research is all over the internet.
DR. DEBO AJAGUNNA (Physics dept. federal university of Tech., Akure), RIP sir.. GOD BLESS YOUR SOUL
(facebook.com- Debo Ajagunna)

That's boko haram,. They organized similar attacks in neighboring countries last year. That's how they raise funds

What is happening to Nigeria? How long will we continue in this manner?The spate of insecurity is alarming.

Mr EMY, Nigeria is a country o, not a state.

Same tin in edo state 2

Story

Ikare peopls sorry ooo, na d sam tin hapn 2 us at okene in kogi st, 2 month ago. All our securit ran away, de later turn it 2 boko haram, Na ooo nigeria. RIP for dose who lost de life.

Cynthia said...

Same thing happened in Ekpoma on 22nd March, they robbed both UBA and Zenith at the same time.

Swaggamommabb said...

Awww... May he R.I.P

Ozorlastbornblog said...

i was there on the nxt mori,bt we av lack of security.dat is wer i live.

tejjy said...

Haaa I'm crying. Dats my hometown. So sad. De blew off d armor tank @ d police station first before d robbery ( even if de dint blow it, d poilce wldnt av attacked dem) d cld not get money in d banks, so de got angry n destroyed it. Beta de robbed @ nite. Cos it wld av bein bloodier during d day. I used to kno d person dat died.

what you said about sacked/retrenched workers is not fair. You make it seem as if it was their fault they were retrenched or they are all thieves, mind you it could happen to you or yours. I'm more with the Boko Haram looking for money to fund their activities....or sheer desperate measures to become rich .

Not one good thing in Nigeria can be accounted for and we have a president getting 81% rating???Truly Nigeria jagajaga

Na waooo.. Naija bikonu

GEJ,pls do smetin abt nigerian security,the rate of crime is too much

Ofilispeaks.com said...

"The men arrived late at night on Monday April 30th and operated for hours without hindrance."

Without hinderance...i just tire sha. No training.

Ode! makes more sense if you had seen a 'failed country'..please go back to high school;better yet start afresh from nursery school. Mtchew.

Now we've seen what a boy with no shoe can do. if he grows and has so many shoes.
Just looking out for what GEJ's campaign strategy will be in 2015

Candid advice to GEJ, pls wahtaever strtegy you intend to use don't adopt the n2n thing O.
Anybody that comes to my door in Jonathans name; (no comment)

Did u ever take civic or government lessons in high school? Before ever making a public comment, be double sure of what u r abt to say. In int'l affairs, we only have STATES, not country. Pls take note

OnileEre! said...

So you know him too. He was like an elder brother to me. Infact more of a mentor. Returned from greece last year after almost 4yrs. I dont even know what to say

DreamWeavers said...

This is sad...I grew up in this town and I can't believe what happened. This use to be a very friendly and peaceful small town. Like everything in Nigeria,nothg is working.may the soul of those that dies rest in peace. Amen

LyricalMessiah said...

I think..Its the same sets of robbers that are going from state to state....This is not boko haram...The sponsors behind them can't go broke with the nations funds that have been stolen...Really..I think Nigeria is a failed state..With the 10billion naira allocated in the budget for security,yet we hear more death and robbery attacks by the day...What a shame

I have been the supervisor of the PhD thesis of Debo, your killed lecturer of FUTA.
A friend of Debo called me today with the bad news. I could not believe it, until I reached this site. I still do not want to believe it...
Debo was a great person with rare human values. He got only friends and our respect in Greece. He worked very hard for 5 years, being far from his beloved 3 children and his wife.
He came back to Nigeria to reunite his family and contribute in a better education of young Nigerian people.
It is unfair, you lost the best Nigerian man!

I have been the supervisor of the PhD thesis of Debo, your killed lecturer of FUTA.
A friend of Debo called me today with the bad news. I could not believe it, until I reached this site. I still do not want to believe it...
Debo was a great person with rare human values. He got only friends and our respect in Greece. He worked very hard for 5 years, being far from his beloved 3 children and his wife.
He came back to Nigeria to reunite his family and contribute in a better education of young Nigerian people.

Alexandros said...

Dear Debo, will never forget you!
I wish strength to your family. They must be proud of you.

This is shocking news.

God bless you. Debo!

I know Debo is a very nice person and very helpful to other people.

Wish you happy In Heaven.

Concerning Dr Debo Ajagunna. Glory to God for a life well spent. He was buried on Tuesday @ about 4pm, we were there to pay our last respect to him. May His continue to rest in Perfect Peace. He was indeed a very good man.