Help for domestic violence burns victim: Mrs Mercy Nnadi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 May 2012

Help for domestic violence burns victim: Mrs Mercy Nnadi

On the 07 of April, 2012, Mercy Nnadi 38yrs became a victim of domestic violence when her husband Henry Nnadi 38yrs burnt her with hot iron for allegedly sleeping with his 65-year-old father. Henry who is currently in confinement at Kirikiri prison Lagos, is also alleged to have killed their 1yr old son Ebuka.

Mercy  is still in excruciating pains as a result of the intensity of burns she sustained from the hot pressing iron her husband placed on all over her body. The third degree burns she received may have done extensive damage to her body and she urgently needs financial assistance to help her get specialized medical treatment like skin graft surgery 

While the New Evolution Hospital Okota, where Mercy Nnadi was initially admitted helped in stabilizing the victim, it is now crucial that she is seen by a Burns Specialist as she would need skin grafting surgeries

Project Alert on Violence against Women, in collaboration with Centa for Organizational Development (COD) Nigeria and Zahara Women Foundation are working around the clock to ensure the victim gets specialist medical care for her third degree burns. In view of the ongoing strike by doctors and other health workers in Lagos State, these organizations, have been trying to identify a Burns Surgeon with any of the major government hospitals, such as LASUTH, IGBOBI and LUTH, to attend to Mercy in a Private Hospital. Arrangements for this is almost finalized, as a Burns Surgeon has been identified, and mercy would soon be moved to a private clinic is consults for.

As evidenced from the picture above, Mercy requires the burns to be monitored closely, for them to heal well, and thereafter, skin grafting, particularly in her breast and chest region which seemed to have defied all manner of treatment. Her thigh, from where skin should be gotten for grafting, is also burnt and needs healing.

The road to recovery for the victim is a long and very difficult one which requires extensive medical and emotional care. She needs our financial support and prayers to help her go through the difficult times ahead.

To help meet the victim’s medical expenses, an account has been set up for her and we are appealing to well meaning Nigerians and organizations to support the victim with whatever they can, as no amount is too small.

Account Name:
PROJECT ALERT - MERCY NNADI
Account No: 1013015180
Zenith Bank, Ojodu Branch.

Donations made to this account, would be published on the website of the three organizations partnering to ensure that Mercy survives this horrible ordeal. WE COUNT ON YOUR SUPPORT.

Signed
Josephine Effah-Chukwuma (Executive Director, Project Alert)
Nkiru Okoro (Executive Director, COD)
Rosemary Mukoro (Zahara Women)

55 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

will give something no matter how lil

The use of pure natural honey will heal these burns in no time and there would be no need for skin grafting. However, I will like to make my contributions, but I'm not comfortable with these many igbo names managing the account. So please Linda, are we allowed to contact her directly?

BLOGLORD said...

dats hard on the igbos. not nice.

Drew Vickson said...

@Anonymous...these many Igbo names have helped create awareness for her and that is commendable. By the way were is your current location?which of the galaxies did you type your comment from?

Mr anonymous! You are an idiot! Your fada naysh there

I am, the no Sender. said...

What really is your problem? Nigerians, some of us can really be petty and small minded. You are not comfortable because Igbos have taken the initiative to help this lady. You may as well keep your money because the beneficiary is also Ibo, so go look for a high voltage transformer and french kiss it. Mtcheew.

Igbo, Hausa, Yoruba we a̶̲̥̅̊re one. Let us rise up Ãήϑ assist when thε̲rε̲ ĭ$ thε̲ need if we can. We could also assist with prayers. Linda keep up thε̲ g☺☺d work. Would love t☺ meet Ɣ☺ΰ‎​‎​ sometime. ‎​Ɣ☺ΰ‎​‎​ ♓ανε really kept mε̲ Ãήϑ a̶̲̥̅̊ lot of other pple informed. Tnx

Linda Blog of Horror...

Why are you all crying? Lwkmd! But una indirectly get that anon message sha. I think say na only me notice say igbo people too D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ like siddon untop money Mata......buhahahaha...maybe na 12% go enta d woman hand at the end of the day.

OMG...Gos go bless u linda oooo...u make my day kaiiii...d kind of ppl dat comment on dis ur blog make my day...dey make d worse case all beta cos of dia fight...am sure dat person condemnin ibo pl doesnt ve a kobo to contribute...lol

Wat has tribe got to do with d issue @ stake,if u wanna help jst help nd stop saying rubbish nd as 4 d person nd d honey treatment,does dt look like a minor burn dat u can treat with honey doctor?if honey cld do d wrk dey wldnt b lookin 4 a skin specialist dumb ass

Momen said...

@Anonymous, Am not surprised by your big mouthiness. After all, you started by suggesting the use of pure natural honey and no use of skin grafting upon seeing the gravity of the Injuries sustained by this poor lady.

Although I don't find the jab against the igbos cool, I think the honey option should do the trick, because I've seen an elderly woman who was severely burnt in an accident along lagos ibadan exp way. The hospital bills were heavy, so someone suggested pure honey. The burns were worse than this, but healed completely in a month or two, and the scars gradually disappeared over time. So first anon; that's the only sensible thing I see in your comment.

Linda, I miss Gbenga........*sadface*.......I.E.E

NYC-1 says: I would like to contribute but will want to remain anonymous; how can this be guaranteed, please let me know. Again, who do I call to leave Western Union Money Tranfer Number to? It's a headache and time consuming to wire money through a bank here in New York - forms to fill-out, coupled with the fact that I do not intend to expose my bank info.

Isn't it ironic that we are complaining of sub-human treatment melted on us when we leave our borders for other countries, yet within ourselves, we are not comfortable with one another's name because it sounds different from our native language? I have lived in American for a very long time and has not for once feel like a foreigner; but, whenever I visit home, the aura chances. Your start to hear omoigbo, ndeyoruba (North? that is a no go area). Isn't it ironic?

OH MY GOD, is it tribe, we are seeing in this woman, or a fellow Nigerian in need of help. Has poverty hardened Nigerians this much, that we trivialise something as serious as this? PRAY it is not your mother, sister or daughter tomorrow

I pray the person who said this can be treated with honey, gets burnt this way, and I will personally charter all the honey in Nigeria, for him/her. May GOD forgive him/her. Bless you Linda, will make my donation first thing tomorrow

duchess said...

@ anonymous ur jst a pathetic fooooool!....

Linda,may God bless u 4 ds awareness, all is well pple & stop tribal stigma,rememba E no mata who u b. It cud b u

This is the problem we have in 9ga....donate money for someone's recovery and Mr/Mrs Anonymous comes here and say's too many ibo names??? O_o ...like seriously if the people helping towards her recovery are people related to her with ibo names why is that a problem. If you don't feel comfi keep ur money no be say u go donate the complete amount self...

People always have rubbish to use natural honey, how about u donate 2 drums of honey so she can soak inside....

True talk.LOL....I fear dm o

Blog of horror?Who forced u 2 view this site?U ar so outdated n Linda is tryin to help ppl lik u only 2 tag her blog!Don't view this site again o!

bosbee said...

@anonymous 10:10pm,May u be forgiven for dt prayer,he or she jst suggested honey 4d treatment,wish pple wat u wish urself.........

Many people who comment on the posts of this blog time and again, seem to be in great need of growing up. It's silly and immature individuals that'll always have to trade insults on a blog, instead of addressing the issue at hand.
At the end of the day, everybody has opinions, some of which are different from your own, so need to trade insults.
YEBO

Woman said...

Lmfaoooooo @ two drums of honey so she can soak inside lwkmd o i actually laughed out loud at 11.43pm at nite jokes

IAmhairs said...

@Anonymous May 10, 2012 7:30 PM starting from wen u began ur comment i sensed how confused u sounded ''The use of pure natural honey will heal these burns in no time and there would be no need for skin grafting.''....do u fink she,the foundations or betterstill d surgeons do not knw of d honey effects?...i can bet on anything u u were so blindly dumb not 2 have undastood this part ''skin grafting, particularly in her breast and chest region which seemed to have defied all manner of treatment''...4 crying outloud i was finking people of your sort died decades ago...n u wouldnt have even mentioned dis ''However, I will like to make my contributions,"....4 christ sake who needs your contribution,dis blog has more than 10 thousand members.....so u culd still hate 2 contribute as the case may be....but where u shot urself on your webed feet was when you said 'but I'm not comfortable with these many igbo names managing the account."....i can still imaging those words dropping 4rm dose margot infested lips of yours....who on his/her right mind would imaging those things on your watery brain on this woman's state of health...but may they burn in hell if they do.....and you stupidly poked youself in the eyes when you said these "So please Linda, are we allowed to contact her directly?"....u being dull n dumb was certified long ago...but i never knew u were also born dis way(as a fool)....with the state of insecurity in the country why would you even imaging contacting her directly.....for the hundred and one time i know u were blind not to have seen where they said they would paste name of donors on the oganisation's site....LWTMB

Is there an easy way to send money from the u.s?

Linda pls open a paypal acct for overseas residents o. tx

GlamNotchApparels said...

i hope she gets the help that she needs fast. unfortunate situation

Feeble minded fools!!!

people are just hitting the anon guy/girl, but the truth is that we know in this country people or organisation makes money from the public in such a situation. I bet it with you people that not all the money will be given to her, either we believe it or not. It takes a sincere heart to remit all the money for the treatment especially if it is large. Its only that it is not ibo factor, it is nigerian factor. So that person should not bring ibo alone to this. If linda give the direct account with the other one,making it 2, i bet she will still has alot of money in her pocket if the treatment is successful.

Natural honey may help, yes, but if the burns are full thickness burns, a skin will surely be needed too

*skin graft*

My dear friend, you can't assess the extensiveness of burn wounds from a picture. It probably is more extensive than that of the person u described. And plastic surgeons use honey too, for the partial thickness burns. Won't work for full thickness burns. So graft will be needed

Abeg Calm down wiv ur stupid reply !! The person probably didn't mean it like that ! Gosh!! U just wnt to type rubbish as reply

OMG...Gos go bless u linda oooo...u make my day kaiiii...d kind of ppl dat comment on dis ur blog make my day...dey make d worse case all beta cos of dia fight...am sure dat person condemnin ibo pl doesnt ve a kobo to contribute...lol

IamHairs. your comment alone shows you are the cum your whoring mother should have swallowed or your randy father should have stained the bed instead. Animal! I'm sure you are one of the criminals who take advantage of situations like this to enrich your malnourished pocket. Yes, I am a willing donor, but your stupid outburst with the semblance of a rabid dog will not change my mind from not putting that money in the hands of igbo fund managers. I have seen what they often do with such money. More than half of it most times doesn't get to the victim. I can say this for a fact because I run my own NGO and have seen and heard enough reports whereby the families of the victim come around saying the money they received was not sufficient even when I know the money sent to them was sufficient. Most of these cases were managed by igbos. So I have my reasons for saying so. If it doesn't go down well with you because you feel guilty, you can shove it up your ass! As for the honey; I can tell you for sure that your ignorance level is bliss to your little worm infested brain. People who have suffered first degree burns have used honey, and it worked just fine for them. if that spoils the doctors business, then that's their own problem. God made the properties in the honey useful for a reason. So if you haven't tried it, then STFU! As for them publishing the donors names, is that a guarantee for publishing the exact amount that was raised? So take your douchebaggry elsewhere.

THIS IS BARBARIC. WHY NOT GIVE HER KENYA TREATMENT IF SHE IS CHEATING ON YOU.

i pray that the great doctor of all doctors from above in heaven visit her tonite, i claim fast healing for her by the scribes of JESUS CHRIST, I will continue to pray, cos there is nothing prayer cannot do.am not financially boyant now.

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

But ppl are wicked!!!!!

THE ANONYMOUS HATING ON IGBO'S NO WORDS FOR U! NO WORDS!! DAN U'LL DIE IN UR SLEEP THINKING....WRETCH

DIVINE.U said...

Lets forget about this tribe issues and find a way of helping this poor victim.God shall heal you my dear

DIVINE.U said...

Jesus had borne your griefs and by His stripes you were healed.So be healed my dear.AMEN!!!

Josephine said...

Yes there is an avenue for Nigerians in diaspora to contribute

Mr Banji said...

If u want to open a verified paypal account here in Nigeria then call me on 08093687640

Kudoz said...

Hmmmm this anti Igbo person, am even surprise that you read and write English.

I know the anon that posted that crap about igbos should be a yoruba person. They r always too into hating igbos. I don't get it! I don't like yoruba people either simply becos of their omo-igbo crap. I hate that. But I've learnt they r all not d same and when I was in d UK, I neva associated with any igbo people. So pls grow up

CHI

The burns are not uniform, and as a result the use of honey will not 100% effective. I have even used honey on a mild burn victim and as much as it helped, it didn't completely cure all signs of the burns!

NGOs are known not to remit all the monies given for certain causes, not just in Nigeria. However to single out the fact that there are too many ibos in a list, when the victim herself is ibo, shows a great sign of immaturity and the apparent stupidity that has thrown Nigeria into the current quagmire in which we find ourselves.

There are corrupt Ibos, Yorubas, Hausas, Liberians, Americans, etc. Stop being stereotypical!!! It will not favour your government! That is what you should take out of the replies you've gotten, not telling us u run an NGO!

The pure honey suggestion actually works. She should try it.

ugochukwu said...

lol! linda u & ur commenters wont kill me oo...dey don leave woman wey dem suppose help come dey talk about igbos n money...chei!

ugochukwu said...

lol! linda u & ur commenters wont kill me oo...dey don leave woman wey dem suppose help come dey talk about igbos n money...chei!

So I'm guessing you are 'iamhairs' I see your brain is gradually starting to regain its balance. FYI, the NGO I run is a side project. I don't solicit funds from the public or from the government. My company is buoyant enough to fund and help as much as we can. For security reasons, I prefer to stay anonymous; so don't spew crap based on your limited knowledge of NGO's. Not all solicit funds. Stereotypical? Yes, but based on loads of experience. We give out the funds to take care of an issue, and the victim's family member comes to say "thank you for your support, but the amount we were given was not enough". Most times I get furious, sometimes I just smile when I look at the documents showing how much they received. Like I said earlier, this happens mostly with the Igbo fund managers, and that informs my decision on this particular case. I've been looking to see if we have been given a positive confirmation to contact her. So far, I've seen none. Well one way or the other, she'll get the help she needs, because I've followed her story from the day it came up on this blog, and I'm not about to back down now.

U r just an idiot CHI what makes u think the person that said all that is a yoruba person n can't be another tribe like benin,delta,hausa huh? U go just they beh like bebeto stupid child..... Mchewww

Tell us the real bank account....Fidelity Bank or Zenith bank. Dont let them scam us.

you all mutherfuckers need to die,you worthlessss NIGERIAN MEN IN GENERAL ARE BASTARDS TAKING OUT UR FUCKING ANGER ON WOMEN,,NOW WHY DID HE KILL THE CHILD WHAT DID THE CHILD DO,I HOPE ONE OF HIS FAMILY MEMBER READS THIS COS THE SPIRIT OF THAT CHILD WILL NOT REST UNTIL HE ALSO KILLS HIS DAD,TORMENT HIM TO HIS GRAVE THE BASTARD,, U IGBO,YORUBA MEN ARE MADDDDD ALSO U ALLLL WOMEN BEATERS WILLL DIE! I HATE YOU ALL.I HATEEEE YOU NIGERIAN MEN COS U ARE ALL THE SAME,IF IT IS NOT YOU,ITS UR MOTHER,OR UR SISTERS MAKIING LIFE HARD FOR THE WOMAN,GO FUCK YOURSELVES IN THE ASSSS AND STOP PICKING ON WOMEN BLOOOODY BASTARDSSSS