27 year old man commits suicide in Oshogbo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 May 2012

27 year old man commits suicide in Oshogbo

Scene of the suicide
A 27-year-old National Diploma graduate of Osun State Polytechnic, Iree, Muili Awolumate, has hanged himself in Ifon area of the state. Awolumate’s corpse was found hanging on a tree with a belt believed to be his. A knife and a wire were also seen on the scene of the tragedy.

The Head, Disaster Management, Nigeria Security Civil Defence Corps, Mr. Olaniyi Babalola, said the remains of Awolumate had been buried on Saturday in line with Islamic rites. Investigation showed that the deceased, who graduated three years ago, was unemployed at the time of his death and he hailed from Olurounbi compound, Diisu Road, Ifon. (Punch)

36 comments:

iamfascinating said...

so sad. there's always something to live for. You are precious in God's eyes. Everyone faces tough times, everyone. But with God, you will pull through. It is well.

teeswag said...

Oh dear. Dis is soooo sad

Ezems said...

Sickening story *sigh*

Buried without autopsy to confirm wether its sucide...na waoo

Austin sunday said...

D young man is frustrated after graduating 4rm sch no job,no money,no help. I think is time 4 our govt 2 take drastic steps on unemployment problem b4 our graduates die finish.

"Hung himself" not hanged himself, madam!

Look at what the rate of unemployment has resulted into *smh*

This is bad! bad! bad!

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Cmon u shudnt hv done dis,thr re more dan 1million Nigerians like u dat re in dis situation death isn't d best solution. May ur soul RIP... Govt*lip sealed*

Wow, i am almost crying. Please let them investigate well to know if he was murdered and framed with suicide, or he actually killed himself. Suicide happens when all hope is lost. Poor guy. May his soul rest inm peace.

easyisrael said...

Wow...its reli sad to see Nigeria in dis state nd very sad to know dat people re stil stupid to d point of comitn suicide wen u know hell is vry sure for u but i hope tins get beta in dis country. God bless Nigeria

has hung eeeeiie! Linda. y u dey disgrace us like this? :D

so because u r jobless u wil just go and kill yourself. Fool

wumi said...

As in,very big FOOL..... Even God go ask Am!!!

Oversabi, its hanged... Olodo oshi

did u just type 'anged'linda come on!

Linda is correct, it is hanged and not hung. Hanged is the past tense of hang when referring to being killed by hanging

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

It may not hav been his jobless state! But c'mon suicide?? Nevr!

"AnonymousMay 22, 2012 12:06 AM
Oversabi, its hanged... Olodo oshi" you are the Olodo Oshi. U shd investigate before U judge. Thank God U av access to d internet . Y not google it. U and Linda shd be enrolled in evening classes. It is HUNG. I am sure u will say GRIND is GRINDED. Olodo Oshi.

Hanged and hung are both correct but when someone does it by the noose,the correct term is hanged,inanimate objects are hung,people are hanged.Anyway thats by the way.suicide is for failures,that is another soul for satan in hell,(I am not judging thats where he will go), but people should appreciate life more because its precious except its your time to go.

All of una wey talk linda make mistake make una go teach english for school olodos

Hanged and hung are both correct but hung is more appropriate for this context

very sad, but suicide isn't the best option. Many working 2day were once upon a time unemployed. You should hv waited my brother bcos at God's appointed time he make every thing beautiful. R.I.P

Dilichukwu said...

..the level of illiteracy in Nigeria marvels me. when three or more users think Linda was wrong to have used "hanged" instead of "hung" in this context, then we as a nation have alot to worry about.

The government has not even helped by recently reducing cut off mark for JAMB.

Well to those who have antagonized Linda, she is right.

Please find below FYA

"Hanged" is a word exclusively used when referring to execution or suicide by hanging. In all other cases, use "hung" for past tense.

"Austin sunday said...
D young man is frustrated after graduating 4rm sch no job,no money,no help. I think is time 4 our govt 2 take drastic steps on unemployment problem b4 our graduates die finish.May 21, 2012 8:49 PM"

No Austin, this man could have set up something of his own- he did not have to wait for the government to do anything for him- shebi the article states that he used a knife and a belt to commit suicide- surely he could have put these weapons to better use??? They are thousands of enterprising young Nigerians around working during their holidays to earn money for their school fees and other expenses- Please watch the attached link and you will see what I mean about hard working young people- they are not waiting for the government to do anything for them but they are striving to the best of their ability- they will succeed in the end. If the young man in this article committed suicide because of the economic situation, then I can't sympathise with him

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AHFp2FXo5g

the white enchantress said...

so sad, what would have warranted this?

QF
There's so much to live for even if d govt employed u hw much wud u be earnin anyway. I'm sori but can sympathize wif u cos suicide ws simply out of d question, u were such a COWARD.

The word "hanged" used in this context is right. Linda's right.

Keks said...

Both r correct stop picking on each other iyale & iyawo.

oga oh
a man killed himself
una dey blow grammar
meanwhile ive been jobless for 8 years
I dey loose am oh

Olatunji Mawe said...

Na so God will surly ask him

Pinc_Viros said...

People wey go sch...

deekay said...

Life can be so cruel! 3 yrs, no job. my god!! cnt imagine how this guy mustv been feeling. God rest his soul.

If we are talking capital punishment, we say, 'the
prisoner was hanged." But, in my job, we say, "the IV
was hung." its Corect buh nt suposed to be used in dat part......

Kingslove said...

Unemployment is frustrating bt not to suicide, suicide is a direct certificate to hell, no hope on earth,no rest in eternity, d world of complete agony, d wisdom is that i will endeavour to c that my fchildren learn skil b4 higher institution so dat when they come out they can stil be doing what they knw how to do b4 a beta opportunity else where. If we depend on d govt down we go, learn from Igbos.

bolnicky said...

Hmmmm may God help us in dis our nation.......give urself a devine REST, dats a sad news