FG reduces pump price of petrol to N97 per litre | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 January 2012

FG reduces pump price of petrol to N97 per litre

In a broadcast by 7am this morning, president Jonathan said "given the hardships being suffered by Nigerians, and after due consideration and consultations with state governors and the leadership of the National Assembly, government has approved the reduction of the pump price of petrol to N97 per litre".

Labour has in the meantime suspended street protests/rallies to embark on a sit at home strike.

N97 is still high o FG, please bring hand down small...say N66? Thank you. The president's full speech when you continue...

Presidential Address On The  Implementation Of The Deregulation Policy In The Downstream Sector Of The Petroleum Industry, Sunday, January 15, 2012

Dear Compatriots,

1. This is the second time in two weeks I will address you on the deregulation of the downstream petroleum sector. In the last seven days, the nation has witnessed a disruption of economic activities.  Although, the economic imperatives for the policy have been well articulated by government, the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC) went ahead to declare a nationwide strike.

2. There was also near-breakdown of law and order in certain parts of the country as a result of the activities of some persons or groups of persons who took advantage of the situation to further their narrow interests by engaging in acts of intimidation, harassment and outright subversion of the Nigerian state. I express my sympathy to those who were adversely affected by the protests.
3. At the inception of the deregulation policy, Government had set up the Justice Alfa Belgore Committee to liaise with Labour and other stakeholders to address likely grey areas in the policy, but despite all our efforts, Labour refused the option of dialogue and also disobeyed a restraining order of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria.

4. However, following the intervention of the Leadership of the National Assembly, and other well-meaning Nigerians, Labour accepted to meet with government, but this yielded no tangible result.

5. It has become clear to government and all well-meaning Nigerians that other interests beyond the implementation of the deregulation policy have hijacked the protest. This has prevented an objective assessment and consideration of all the contending issues for which dialogue was initiated by government. These same interests seek to promote discord, anarchy, and insecurity to the detriment of public peace.

6. Government appreciates that the implementation of the deregulation policy would cause initial hardships and commends Nigerians who have put forth suggestions and credible alternatives in this regard. Government also salutes Nigerians who by and large, conducted themselves peacefully while expressing their grievances. Let me assure you that government will continue to respect the people's right to express themselves within the confines of the law and in accordance with the dictates of our democratic space.

7. Government will continue to pursue full deregulation of the downstream petroleum sector. However, given the hardships being suffered by Nigerians, and after due consideration and consultations with state governors and the leadership of the National Assembly, government has approved the reduction of the pump price of petrol to N97 per litre. The Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA) has been directed to ensure compliance with this new pump price.

8. Government is working hard to reduce recurrent expenditure in line with current realities and to cut down on the cost of governance. In the meantime, government has commenced the implementation of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment projects: including the Federal Government- assisted mass transit programme which is already in place, and job creation for the youth.

9. Furthermore, the legal and regulatory regime for the petroleum industry will be reviewed to address accountability issues and current lapses in the Industry. In this regard, the Petroleum Industry Bill will be given accelerated attention. The report of the forensic audit carried out on the NNPC is being studied with a view to implementing the recommendations and sanctioning proven acts of corruption in the industry.

10. Let me assure Nigerians that this administration is irrevocably committed to tackling corruption in the petroleum industry as well as other sectors of the economy. Consequently, all those found to have contributed one way or the other to the economic adversity of the country will be dealt with in accordance with the law.

11. My dear compatriots, I urge you to show understanding for the imperatives of the adjustment in the pump price of petrol and give government your full support to ensure its successful implementation. I further appeal to Nigerians to go back to work and go about their normal duties as government has made adequate arrangements for the protection of life and property throughout the federation.

12. Government will not condone brazen acts of criminality and subversion. As President, I have sworn to uphold the unity, peace and order of the Nigerian State and by the grace of God, I intend to fully and effectively discharge that responsibility.  Let me add that we are desirous of further engagements with Labour. I urge our Labour leaders to call off their strike, and go back to work.

13. Nigeria belongs to all of us and we must collectively safeguard its unity.

14. Thank you. God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN, GCFR
President,
Federal Republic of Nigeria

42 comments:

RhapidKid said...

Stupid man! He really doesn't get the point does he? We won't even accept N66. N65 or Occupy Nigeria! I said it back then that electing this puppet was a mistake but even my own family didn't listen and went ahead to vote for him. If I were in Naija at the time, I certainly wouldn't have voted for him. Not that Buhari would have been a huge upgrade, but he certainly wouldn't have had god fathers and partners that he had to settle once he got into office. He would have eaten Nigeria's money too(as usual) but he would have done significant things.

Tell me, what has this idiot done since he got into office? NOTHING. NADA. ZILCH. I just feel like landing one hot slap on his big lips every time I see his pic. I'm happy NLC has not called off the strike and I'm hoping they hold their ground till the price is brought back to N65.

And to think that Jona was once a humble lecturer a Uniport. Look at the animal he has become! Pinning even more poverty on an already poverty stricken economy. In fact, I rest my case.

Vaughn Samuel said...

hahahahahahaha...Linda if you read comments posted on ur blog, you will recall that I, oloye Vaughn Samuel rightly called this move albeit by a N3 differential. Its a movie we have all seen, yet we forget and act it out again and again. The Last time we settled for N65, OBJ raised it to N100. we cried and went on strike then he reduced it to N65 and everybody said 'make we accept am make people go out go work." Occupy Nigeria indeed...Mchew! Study all other protests around the world, they get what they ask for...from Tunisia to Libya. We don tire abi???? Labor collect egunje begin misjive we dey listen to them...Nonsense.

Still too high. Labour should work on =N=85 per litre.

Good morning fellow Nigerians. FGN has obviously resorted to using force and intimidation to shot us up. Have u seen the fierce looking and battle ready Soldiers on the road? In fact they blocked 3rd mainland bridge @ Oworosonki and Adeniji Adele ends leaving a space that can only allow a car at a point. So I suggest we obey Labour's latest directive of sit at home. Even though I suspect Labour may have been compromised becos they know that "stay at home" cannot achieve anything and will not work in Nigeria or they have truly been scared off the streets by FGN military option. Either way, no problem, we must be alive to fight. This fight like I said yesterday is not about Fuel subsidy but correction of the ills in our govt and has gone beyond Labour & TUC.

ONYEDIKING said...

Ah thank God i can now go back to school, am so happy now www.gideblog.com

tope said...

Please can somebody correct me if i am wrong.is this president not the same man that the civil groups protested on behalf of to have sworn in?has anyone seen pictures of our streets?what can warrant him to put those armies everywhere?for a relativeley peaceful protest????is this man smoking something else besides money?the SA to the president told the press yesterday that the president will address the nation at 7am and what did we get?a recorded message.nothing this government has said has being the truth.this man is a fraud.and by the special grace of the God which i serve,he will be brought to book.

Not good enough !!! 65 or nothing

tope said...

Dear friends, we all woke up this morning to news of the takeover of our streets by soldiers acting on the orders of our Commander-in-Thief. It cannot be a surprise to any discerning watcher of contemporary Nigerian history, and the man has merely acted true to type.
Let's I.C.E ourselves through this mess.
Montesque, [some French smart pants] propounded the Social Compact theory, he was of the opinion that states evolved primarily because we all gave up our rights and agreed that a bigger entity, the state, should regulate our affairs and its primary responsibility is the protection of lives and property. The Nigerian state has always existed to protect the 1% that consumes over 90% of its resources. Who are the deployed soldiers meant to fight? Are we BH?

How would the government justify this reactionary step against its own citizens? I warned some days ago, that we are beginning to see a coordinated effort by the state, to use its thugs and agents provocateur to orchestrate acts of violence on the streets, all in a bid to justify the looming crackdown. Saturday saw Asari's rally in PH. Many neighbourhoods reported spikes in Armed Robberies, and I am aware that threats are being issued to perceived arrowheads of the nascent movement demanding equity in the conduct of our national affairs.

We've been here before, and even though they managed to sell us a dud at the time, we were not cowed by Abacha's terror. GEJ, the governors and all aligned with them, are poor students of history, you can't rule a conquered people, and we won't roll over and play dead. Since GEJ has now bared his fangs and brought out Abacha's playbook, we'll dust up our "June 12" manual as well. Stay at home it is.

Why would a government be afraid to debate its own citizens? Because they have never seen us as anything other than pawns and serfs. Its time they go the whole hog and formally enslave us.

Pls forward if you agree.

Ways to make money online said...

So is the strike still holding? The banks?

angela said...

i hate tnis Jonathan ma.Can u imagine he has sent out soldiers to intimidate the peaceful gathering at Ojota.Bastard man!Where waas he and his show of force when Boko haram was bombing everyone in site! may he die the way of Gadaffi!

timi said...

At the armed forces remembrance day celebration held in Abuja today,when the president released the 25 white pigeons signifying peace,they didnt fly o!!!even the pigeons are aware of the discord.

Futo Registration for New Students said...

What i need is for the government to reduce the fuel to its normal price. Complete Step by step guide to FUTO Registration For Newly Admitted Students

Nice speech by mr president but it is still 65 naira or we stay at home

NDA (Nigerian Defense Academy) said...

Will the labour settle for this price?

charles said...

Me personaly tink GEJ is a nokia addict , from N65 to N97. GEJ plz we want N63 if posible or N65. N97 na slide phone and the flex they always give problem . #ibeg

charles said...

Me personaly tink GEJ is a nokia addict , from N65 to N97. GEJ plz we want N63 if posible or N65. N97 na slide phone and the flex they always give problem . #ibeg

blunt said...

linda,you dissapoint me! Why do we need to beg the man? Na im papa get the oil?! He is too weak to face Boko ,yet he can roll out the tanks against the same people that elected him! he is scared of the cabal,yet he can persecute people like Bakare who have the guts to speak out against corruption! How i wish his family will be killed by these Boko,make im sef know as e de be for bodi! I am ashamed of having such a weakling as a President! He can send SSS to arrest me too! Yeye woman-wrapper!

blunt said...

i am so so angry! When d same Save Nigeria Group raliied to move the National assembly to declare him President,he did not say 'they are politically motivated'! When Nigerians trouped out en-masse to vote his sorry ass in,he did not say we were being teleguided! Pastor Tunde Bakare,The Odumakins,Femi Kuti,and all the other millions of Nigerians that braved the odds to be at the Ojota rally,i salute you! One day,this land shall be one we will be proud of!

The Gani Fawenhimi park is surrounded by about 6 Army Tanks and over 500 Soldiers Police and Civil Defence blocking all the roads and harrassing pple.I am there now.

MUMU of the first and second order. Keep deceiving yourself. GEJ my foot. I am so sorry for you because your children and your generation take the curses. Please, in future keep your stupid broadcast and speech to only Aso Viila. You have no shame at all. I dont support anyone not even your critics but myself. FYI: This is no political antagonism just in case. I support myself and poor families in the Nigeria.

Last week,the FG quickly paid the pensions of the army.He is afraid of the gun but no care for us.Our civilian parents are still queueing everyday waiting for their hard eraned pension allowance.The military will take over and line all this people up and shoot them.the ghana jerry rawlings way.let this system be cleansed.

Soldiers on the streets! This is d greatest act of cowardice. Soldiers that were not sent to curb the menace of Boko Haram which presidency says its a burden we have to live with are now being deployed to intimidate harmless civilians engaged in a peaceful and legitimate protest. Who says military rulership is out of fashion? Please re-broadcast to let the whole world know.
What a SHAMELESS & SHOELESS leadership we've got! Pls re broadcast

Elenu said...

Yeah yeah yeah! Yaaaaaawwwwwnnnnnn

The ARMY to curb peaceful protests????This man is really paranoid.And this same army couldnt be deployed to curb the several actions of boko haram?last week he released over 150 police men in abuja alone based on a text stating that abuja will be attacked?over 5billion naira was paid to a security owned by alameseigha to put security equipments in abuja.all this to protect himself(Jonathan) and his family while the rest of us are given armed army to harass us.i have seen pics of people being made to frog jump already and my friend was harassed at the oregun area of lagos this morning.

TINA said...

We Nigerians know the benefit of the removal of fuel subsidy,but the issue still lies in the fact,that our dear president didn't do all these process through the right way.Bring down the price to N65,address us and explain to the lay man the importance of the removal and do it as you promised earlier in April.

Am so okay with this. Oya let banks start working fully my account is in the red am yet to receive my allowance oya nlc go and sit somewhere we no longer need. You

The poor ones in Niaja will still remain in suffering at the rate of 97N. Before dis can work, let the FG make available sustainable transportation for d masses through their various local government and states where the masses will benefit it. Mainly the poor are suffering. dis rich guys will buy the fuel even at d rate of 300N a liter, why GEJ is proving stubborn to hear the voice of Nigerians at d normal rate of 65N?

GEJ Economic advisers and political advisers are FAT STOMACH PEOPLE wey no fit do anything, na only share d money dem dey. if they cannot stick to the 65N which the masses are saying ,they have failed us. i thought they must have used this subsidy of a thing to show and prove that their government is for the people. in politics one uses any slight advantage to upgrade and still be in control. Nigerians loves government that loves d people, PDP is coming again in 2015, they have failed because we all Nigerians have seen them well with their acts. tell GEJ and d PDP to wake up and use this one and only chance of dis fuel subsidy to restore their political stands immediately by showing Nigerians that they are with us in our quest to still have the fuel at 65N. Nigerians did not bargain to vote for GEJ at the rate of 141N or 97N, why is he making things difficult for the poor Nigerians who voted him in? GEJ SHOW LOVE NOW BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE FOR YOU AND YOUR PADDY PADDY GOVERNMENT.

Still from DE MAN.

Heyyyyyy!!! Wat is our president saying, how can we accept #97. It should beter be #90 or go back to wat we want #65, Labour no agree oo

Loudmouthed said...

This dude is a joker, does he think we are stupid? "Job creation for youth..." why didnt he state the method he wants to use to create jobs????? *rme*

Fellow Nigerians, please continue your culture of abject suffering and poverty.
Apparently,its one of the very few things you actually excel at.
I laugh when people try to comfort themselves and say"...well its better to stay in your country than be a 2nd class citizen somewhere else."
2nd class or 3rd,I'm actually very happy;at least it's better than being a bastard/slave in your own land.
Nigerians deserve the leaders they get.
Until they remove the shroud of ignorance and fear,they will ALWAYS have leaders who wish their excreta would be others main meal.
Enjoy the sufferin'...n don't forget to smile while at it.Lol!

u ar an idiot. u stay in another country to run ur mouth like dirty rag. if all nigerians were cowards like u, who would do the protest that was done last week. stupid bastard

He just increased the price from N65 to N97. Is that a reduction or an addition? sad! If he wants to talk about reduction, the it should be from N65 to N50. Shekina...

tj said...

@ anon.1.16am...I just Prayed dis morning,believe me,with yourmindset,i'm sure some of the curses i reigned will still fall 
U,keep being a cleaner there or whatever 3rd class u are,am still going to be in Nigeria,head or tail,excelling....Ode oshi*...who is your fellow nigerian,you are alost soul.

Truth said. This shit is deep. Like bloody bondage. Nigerians hv no voice. Servants forever. Hv no fucking cause. Gov again has made a mockery of our people. We hv nothng. No leg to stand on

Labour don collect egunje. I am very sure nobody is surprised. We all knew labour would chicken out. Naija stil has a long way to go.

Pjobaby said...

Mr 2nd class citizen elsewhere who's enjoying and frowning.
If you're truly enjoying yourself, disclose your work and location, let's assess you or probably invite us over!
It's people like you who envy Nigerians who holiday abroad!

bloglord said...

POINT OF CORRECTION...FG INCREASES PRICE FROM N65 TO N97. SUBSIDY SCAM

it is past 10am, 3 hrs after his speech. i was expecting a speech or presentation by members of his team telling us how that number (97 naira) was arrived at.
i hope it was not plucked out of the backside?
is this deregulation or price fixing?
with 97 naira, is our economy no longer collapsing?
have the cabal being crushed by the God inspired 97 naira price?
do we need another round of strike before we see more power point slides from NOI et al explaining how the price was arrived at?
are they busy at present justifying the new price to themselves and would afterwards come to convince us?
how does this new price answer all the questions SLS, a member of the govt raised against the current fuel pricing regime?

@ anon 10.24,tj and pjwateva
Hi,I'm anon 10.16.
Truth hurts doesn't it? Otherwise you wouldn't have defecated in your pants over my comment.
Its called an OPINION.Even if y'all can't reason,surely you can spell???
I noticed that in all your rants there was nothing,no constructive criticism,no advice,no way forward,
nothing,except vapid air.
You may not agree with my view on how to move the nation forward,but at least I have an opinion,
what's yours?

Oops!Silly me!You'd need a brain for that would'nt you? NEXT!!

Hummmm *breath down*its only God dt can help us ‎​I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ dis nation.cus d rate @wh tinz re going it ll get to α̲̅ pt dt we ll ‎​№ º°˚˚°Âºoo longer tk it.may God help us

@anon 10:16. it's pple like you that paint the good hardworking docs, nurses working in the us, canada etc bad! most us came out to protest where we're and are even praying 'cos we've love ones back home. i must say that , it's either you're in lome or ghana claiming 2 class or 3 class citizen. Please don't come here bad mouthing others okay! keep your comments to yourself.Alot of pple are upset and here you're in lome or ghana writing rubbish! i believe pple here will not take your comments serious 'cos they can tell where you're!

@Anon 8:36

Sincerely,I think you should be more concerned with where you're heading
not where I am.
Lol.
Its called an Opinion ok,so relax.You don't like what another person has to say?.Then MOVE ON.

Ranting,raving and spewing insults just makes you look...
like how you look. :)