American concert promoter kidnapped in Angola over Nas no-show | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 January 2012

American concert promoter kidnapped in Angola over Nas no-show

Nas                                       Patrick Allocco

An American concert promoter, Patrick Allocco, CEO of AllGood Entertainment was last week abducted at gunpoint in Angola all because rapper Nas failed to show up for a heavily promoted New Year's Eve concert. Patrick was snatched by hired goons working for a local "concert impresario" named Henrique “Riquhino” Miguel who brought out the money for the NYE show.

Nas was paid $300k to perform two shows but failed to turn up for the show. Miguel was pissed and didn't want Allocco to leave the country without getting his money back, so he sent his people to kidnap him.

An update from TMZ when you continue...

From TMZ

Nas' concert promoter who was kidnapped at gunpoint in Angola is still stuck in the country -- caught in a legal stalemate between Nas and the guy who allegedly kidnapped him .. and it's getting worse by the day.

TMZ broke the story ... Patrick Allocco -- a U.S. concert promoter who booked an Angolan New Year's Eve show starring Nas -- was kidnapped after the Angolan concert promoter sent Allocco a $300,000 advance for Nas and the rapper ended up being a no-show.

We've learned Allocco -- who was released from custody but is still prohibited from leaving the country -- sent Nas the $300k, but now the Angola promoter wants not only the $300,000 back, but an additional $50,000 in expenses.

Here's the deadlock. Nas is willing to send $300,000, but not the addition $50 grand. In addition, before Nas sends ANY money, he wants a letter from both Allocco and the Angolan concert promoter -- releasing him from any liability.

So there's a stalemate. And Allocco is stuck in a foreign land.

13 comments:

That teaches them not to ever mess with Africans again. Some if these artist think they can book up a show then take our money and run. No we are smarter bitches.

Good for them..you think say an naija wey you go do 'cherikambia' market dey go??

Let him try (unw)rapping himself out of this one:)

kcee said...

Is this now the raining trend, Rick Ross and now Nas. But i don't understand, why pay the full fees. It will be better paying half, then on the arrival of the artist, before performing, then the rest can now be paid.

If you are demanding full pay before any show, then honor the agreement for Christ sake.

If any situation beyond your control arises, thereby preventing you from coming, courtesy demands that you call and let them know and refund the money.

That serves them right.$300k is not a small money.

Too funny said...

Hahhahahaha

what does he mean by "willing to" give back $300,000?! R these people mad?!

My fellow 9jirians, as we occuppy naija tmao let's not forget boko haram issue. It also needs 2 be addressed.

it makes sense.
Why did Nas not show up,yet he collected the money?
why did he wait till the guy was kidnapped before agreeing to return the money?
Of course he has to pay interest. After all, if that money was banked, it would have yielded interest. It is called Time value of money.

superswag said...

good 4 him.. Nxt time he wont
mess wit we africans..nxt time he
wil remember T.I.A #This Is Africa

We Africans need to stop paying this wayo akatas any performance money in advance. Imagine paying this 'has been' akata $300,000! for what eh? will he be spitting gold and diamond while performing on stage? I just don't get it.

Right now, the US economy is bad so these akatas come to Africa to milk us since they know that their useless albums are not selling as much as it used to in their home country.

Africans open your eyes! akatas are just like the oyibos. They do NOT have our best interest at heart. As a matter of fact, they do NOT like us. Take it or leave it and please stop patronizing them and their nonsensical music.

Ray said...

I think we Africans should act wise when it comes to festive period like this. Inviting Rick Ross and Nas to a show on a festive period in African country. Please dont quote me wrong i'm not saying they should'nt av come, but let's face the fact, possibility of coming is slim because their oyigbo counterpart are also dying for their shows.
www.rayenter10ment.wordpress.com

Nas! what is he going to sing or rap sef? Abeg! hold the guy well! don't release him oooo! give am pepper soup, he'll go red! LOL! HEHEH!

no offense i think these usa singers are using style to steal money from africans, first they collect money and dont show up, that is fraud and they think they are smart. African concert promoters should get serious and learned on how to promote and get their money back when these fools choose not to show up.These people need to shine their eyes,these usa entertainers think they are smart,lets show them where they got that smartness from in its raw form.