Shooting Paintball Guns for Christmas - an Adventure into Military Fantasy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 December 2011

Shooting Paintball Guns for Christmas - an Adventure into Military Fantasy

We scoured the length and breadth of Lagos in search of something different to do during the holidays, and for a while we thought we were going to settle for the usual – window-shopping at the mall, movies at the cinemas, clubbing, fashion shows, sponsored parties, comedy shows, music concerts – you know the drill, the same familiar cycle repeated over and over again. But then, on Thursday, we received a curious invitation to the Xtreme Sports Media Experience – with no clue what to expect, we headed down to the Oniru – Landmark Village axis of Victoria Island in search of the Paintball Arena – the venue of this so-called experience. 

Like a soldier waiting to receive new recruits, Ibrahim Yusuf, the MD of the arena gave us a tour and some interesting details about a sport that has been used for decades by military and paramilitary organizations round the world for battle simulation exercises – to be honest, at first glance, we were almost convinced we were being drafted into a secret army, because the arena looked so miliarty-ish and inviting – complete with an ATV track, large battle arenas – with gun shelters, sandbags sniper posts, a gun range, a volleyball pitch, and several ATVs or quad bikes if you prefer the term.
Before sending us into the arena like gladiators in a classic Roman Coliseum, the adventurous and extremely passionate Xtreme Sports boss gave us a few pointers – on safety, he said, “our key priority is to make sure the game is safe – that’s why we have face masks, chest protectors, and coveralls – and we never allow anyone into the arena without the face mask and chest protector”
But then, we were curious to find out why he set up such a place, and he enthusiastically told us “ this place is a combination of passion, hobby, and business at work – I personally love extreme sports, so, after an experience in Dubai where I went paint-balling in the desert, I promised myself that I was going to bring the experience to Lagos – to give discerning folks the opportunity to engage in a different kind of fun, team-building activity, other than the regular hanging out in bars, cinemas, etc – moreover, the Xtreme Sports Paintball Arena isn’t just for thrill-seekers, we’ve had corporate organizations like Etisalat, Nestle, and Redbull send their staff here for various customized team-building exercises – it’s also great for burning calories and keeping fit in an extremely fun way – we’ve also had interesting guests like the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria come in here to use the facilities”
Before we got into the arena for a taste of some real adrenaline-rush, we learnt we could choose between 2 types of play – “Capture the Flag” or “Elimination” – both plays are best enjoyed in teams – and can accommodate up to 15 players on each team. Or we could come up with an idea for a game, and have it customized for us – we could even have any famous war/movie scenarios designed for us.  However, for any variant, each team member requires a marker, commonly referred to as a paintball gun, and the mandatory safety kits.
Long story short, we hit the arena – one team dressed in red coveralls and the other in blue. After the safety guidelines and the rules of engagement were communicated by the referee, we all had one task – take out your opponent – shoot to “tag” in the chest, head, or back to eliminate an opponent (the paintballs are released from the paintball guns and break on impact with an object – so if you shoot at someone, the pain “stains” the point where it hit)  – but minutes into the game we realized that we needed some kind of military strategy to prevail on the other team, but then we were carried away, and just wanted to shoot at something – by the second game, our team was better organized – as we established clear forms of communication – designed a battle plan – and moved with more calculated precision.
The ladies were by no means left out, as there were at least 3 ladies on each team, and I must say, they had more vicious precision and aim – they had more control and seemed to suppress the need for reckless bravado.
So, here goes, a new way to make the holidays count – and a brand new favorite activity for the new year – instead of watching some action on the big screen, friends could actually make their own movies in this arena – for about the same cost of a premium movie ticket and popcorn – you could relish the experience live at the Xtreme Sport Paintball Arena – now that sounded like a pitch, but the excitement of shooting, ducking, shooting, running for cover, shooting, rolling away from the line of fire, and shooting again is just too had to shake off in a couple days.

Written by James Amuta

25 comments:

galore said...

Aabeg make Una Park well,,,,,,We dey talk who go go Mosque go BOMB all dem Muslim inside Mosque,,,Una dey here dey waste una Tallent

ugo3niti said...

hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Galore galore. how many times did i call u.

@ galore - my hand no dey o! but as you talk am, e fit be say na training the boys dey do - me I suppose go try this thing sef...maybe unload my anger on top some people body...but na Christmas we dey celebrate - make we no condone any bombing of any kind...no matter where dem bomb, we go still dey celebrate Christmas - God pass them

- Kevin

this seems like mad fun. I'd like to play with my friends - is it open to the public? can anyone help me with full address and descriptions to the arena, please...

Hi Linda, I've actually gone paint-balling before in Dubai, and it was awesome. I'd like to try it out in Lagos with my family. what time do they open for business daily?

James said...

@ Anonymous: Xtreme Sports Paintball Arena is in Victoria Island - Water Corporation Road, near Landmark Village, Oniru - off Ligali Ayorinde Street, Victoria Island, Lagos. and it's open to the public, everyday of the week, I guess.

@ 2nd anonymous - they open around 10am until dusk - 7pm. but I think they also operate at night on special request or something.

it's very affordable. there's a huge discount for the holiday season - but I'd advise you go with your friends to get an even greater discount.

SMH @ pictures.

I've been paintballing for longer than I can remember, and there is no way you'll go through a game without paint all over you. Na wa for staged pictures.

Either way, kudos at bringing it to Lagos. Just make sure when you play, you cover every part of your body, including your head...

Alex said...

Instead of wasting that land, why don't they just plant cassava on it? Smh :)

Kunle said...

@galore people are thinking of ways to stop violence against humanity and here you are encouraging violence, that's not good please preach peace.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This dem yeye paintball would be more appreciated in Northern Nigeria..lazy sods..must we copy copy everything..with all that's going on!!

hahahha..typical lagos mentaility...as long as the bomb no reach certain people or affect certain people livelihood, the less priviledge remain vicitims. abeg, continue to paintball jare. who cares wetin dey happen for Suleja?

William said...

@Anonymous - yes, you only get paint on you when you get hit. before you conclude the pictures were staged (that's a new one, btw), you need to take the following into consideration:

a- what if the game was just beginning?
b- what if the players had terrible aim?
c- what if pictures of paint-soaked players were omitted from the post?
d- what if you're not looking close enough?
e- what if they were playing "elimination" where you get sent out once you get hit?

for someone who claims to have played paintball for longer than you can remember, you don't seem to know the first thing about paintball. what's the point of continuing the game if you've been hit all over your head, and body - in a real military exercise, if you take a hit to the head - you're dead, abi? so, what would you still be doing in the arena, playing?

I play paintball, and I know that the two most common games are "Elimination" and "Capture the Flag", and you can't continue playing the game, bleeding profusely with paint.

Gerald said...

@Alex - it's rather ignorant of you to assume that the arena is a "waste", when it's a business that has a great purpose - keeping people fit, and enabling team building and camaraderie among friends, colleagues, and family. maybe your idea of sports is drinking Ogogoro and playing Ludo - there are people who like something more physical. and if you do your research well, you'd discover that paint-balling is also played professionally, and recognized worldwide as a team sport since 1981.

so, Alex, stop hating, and maybe you can lose that nasty pot-belly, since obviously you hate gyms, try surviving in a paintball arena for 3 minutes, and we'll call you a man.

Galore said...

@Kunle,,,,,ee no concern u.....Aabeg just use ur Yansh siidon....no vex me....

I so love this, and would def try it out soon, i just hope i dont look too old there

okizle101 said...

Abeg...details of address for those of us who dont stay in las gidi. This one na correct fun things jare.
How's their billing like...is it time fixed or u pay depending on the event you want to partake in?

this is great. wow. in Lagos? at least, I've discovered a great way to work out and have fun at the same time. I'll definitely check the arena out 2moro. most definitely - can I also have a picnic with my friends, there?

William said...

@ Ugo3niti - I love your picture. would love to take you paint-balling, and be your shield, make it my duty to protect you from getting hit by any paint ball, afterwards we can have drinks and lunch, and I promise not to use any cheesy lines like the ones I'm using here. please say yes, and I'll be waiting at the arena 2moro with a bouquet of red roses...

*yawning*

Nawwwhhh I wouldn't attempt paint balling in Nigeria!its not a good idea with militants everywhere.....d next thing u know someone might show up with a real gun!

Ken_Whizzy said...

Gosh,some readers just display plain ignorance shaa ..smh!

is this place still opened??

No it is not

What an awesome festive occasion! Greetings from the UK - Delta Force Paintball

Matthew said...

I Already Read your Recent Post its Great. Carry on the fantastic job. Thanks for your time.