Provocative Virgin Mary Billboard Holding a Pregnancy Test Unveiled | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 December 2011

Provocative Virgin Mary Billboard Holding a Pregnancy Test Unveiled

A new billboard showing the Virgin Mary holding a 'positive' pregnancy test was recently unveiled by St. Matthews-in-the-City Church in Auckland, New Zealand.

The church says the billboard, called "Mary is in the pink", was meant to "spark thought and conversation. Vicar Glynn Cardy of St. Matthews said the church wanted to focus on what it was like for a real mother with a real child. "It's about a real pregnancy, a real mother and a real child.  It's about real anxiety, courage and hope."

He also said the lack of text on the billboard is intended to provoke thought: "We hope to do so with an image and no words. We invite you to wonder what your caption might be." 

The billboard will stay up until Christmas Day.

32 comments:

This don't mean anything bad, the virgin mary was pregnant, I think they want you all to understand the it was this woman that carry our savour for 9months, so she has to be honored,

Luffy's thought said...

She is shocked as per say she no play but goal don score, who wouldn't be but who knows if it is provocative it is not even that funny.

it anit provocative, cuz she was pregnant, I think they just wnt yall to understand, tht she is the mother of d son man,so she is pure, and blessed amongst woman

nigeriapaypal said...

That is a very creative approach away from the traditional story.
My church(Grace Assembly, Oregun) drama group will also do a play on Mary on Christmas day Using an Igbo setting.
Thank you Linda and Merry Christmas in advance.

jotuaka said...

I don't understand how this 'billboard' will provoke thoughts about a real mother and a real child. Mary was a real mother with a real child. The picture in the bill board does not show any of the things the vicar is trying to give as an excuse. It looks to me like a mockery of what we have clearly written in the bible. The woman in the picture looked shocked to find out she was pregnant, meanwhile, Mary was told by the angel... she knew before the pregnancy in itself took place.

me? I just no send said...

hmmmnnnnnn, jst thinking. You know, in some climes this could have caused massive riots and destructions. Guess this is all towards emphasing the point that Jesus did come, was as real as day light. Mary never went to see any quack doctor for a d n c.

devour said...

this is a mockery of blessed virgin mary n she ddnt nid a test to no that she was havin our lord jesus

the vicar and his church members are bored. They should come from Down Under, i have tasks to occupy their idle minds here.

superswag said...

I pity all dz gals formin virgin..mayb dem dey wait so dat one holy spirit go gve em belly..

Mama somtee said...

@ devour spot on !!!!!!!!!!! I do not want to even go there .

yes she was pregnant and no she had not had sex before. Yes Jesus broke her hymen and no I did not say this to cause any stir! If we focus too much attention on the story, we may loose grasp of its significance. Spirituality is believing in God and his two major commandments -love Him and love your neighbour- and religion is believing Jesus was born by a virgin, how and how not to worship him and all the bullshit rules and "doctrines" our churches are forcing down our throats!

No be everything them dey use play sha. FEAR GOD!!!!!

cressidachic said...

I really don't see any sense in this picture!Absolute absurdity!!!

I'm a muslim and i agree with Folu Adeyeye...

This is why Islam does not encourage adding images to the special people God used to minister to us..

Looooooooool said...

Lmao!! This ppl sha.i had a good laff wen i saw d expression on 'mary's face.i think they re just trying to b creative

Well i think the hidden message is, that even when a pregnancy comes unexpected, it should still be accepted and the baby welcomed

Kemi said...

Please don't be quick to get offended. Remember that the virgin Mary was just a young girl when all this happened. We all read the bible in verses and forget the emotion that the people we read about must have gone through. They were human too with human emotions and feelings. I feel that even when she had been visited by the Angel and believed, she would have had a further sense of awakening and awe once the signs of pregnancy starting showing. Think of Abraham - he was 75 when the promise was made to him by God but didn't have Isaac till he was 100. Does anyone even think of the struggle and doubts he must have faced emotionally? I personally think this is just intended to make you think harder than you ordinarily would.

@ superswag
U are a fool, just read ur comment again then u will believe me wen I tell u for a fact that u are a fool

@superswag.if only u had kept quiet, no one wld have known how stupid u were. what do u mean by all the girls forming virgin and d holy spirit giving them belle? U have no sense of decency or even fear of God. I pity the unfortunate woman who is going to end up with you. Even more to be pitied are your yet to be born daughters who may pay for your tactlessness!

smiile said...

@ superswag i agree wit anon 3.19 u didnt makesense wonda hw u reason??? realli **off point**

i concur with anonymous 3: 19....apparently uve got nothing to say superswag...what does ur statement have to do with the post....hisss

WTF!! As a Catholic I find this not funny. Now everyone is going to start making a joke out of this. This is a mockery of the Virgin Mary. She knew she was with child because she was told not by a pregnancy test!

oh please, Mary did not die a virgin.

wetin PAPA GOD go judge plenty!

@Kemi,spot on.

Hiss said...

mschewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

oxon said...

@folu - I think you are the one focusing on detail: Jesus broke her hymen? What utter jibberish. Never in all my life have I given thought to Mary's hymen. why would J need to break it in the first place? Isn't his word enough? The labour in itself would have broken it. See the nonsense you are making me think about. As one said earlier, Mary wasn't a virgin forever. She had normal relations with Jo and kids too.

Ahahahah Miriam was not a white woman as seen in that picture. She was most likely to be of a darker skintone ! If not fully black! So do not let the romans fool u! Trust me on this one ..X

free jobs online said...

vary vary funny

The length people will go to just to seek attention.... Idleness/joblessness is a very bad thing!! they should be mindful of what they say or do about the image so as not to displease God

Lmao, some people shaaaa

wth