Nigerian pilgrims detained in Jerusalem | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 December 2011

Nigerian pilgrims detained in Jerusalem

Seven Nigerian pilgrims to Jerusalem, including two priests and a woman, have alleged poor treatment in the hands of Israeli security operatives, saying they were unjustly detained in prison for about 11 hours without committing any offence.

The pilgrims said they arrived Tel Av-iv Airport on December 15, from Rome where they were arrested and put into a Black Maria on the pretext that they entered Israel illegally.

According to one the returnees, Rev. Father Anthony Zakka, those detained included the Chaplain of the Government House, Adamawa State and Assistant Secretary of the Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN, in the state, Rev. Mike Agbon and five other pilgrims, including a female official of the Kaduna State Christian Pilgrims Board.

Rev. Zakka said: “We left Rome on December 15 for Jerusalem (Israel). At 2.30a.m. Israeli time, we were arrested. Six of us were men with one woman, an official of Kaduna Pilgrims Welfare Board.
“We were accused of entering Israel illegally as, according to them, our names were not among those sent by the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission, NCPC.
“Incidentally, while this was going on, NCPC officials who were with us did not do anything. They just walked away. This was at the Bengurion Airport.
“They took us to prison after stripping us. We were kept inside the prison with a Russian who had already spent six days there.

“They took away our clothes and took the woman to another section while they separated the rest of us into two groups and detained us separately.

“At 10a.m. I started banging on the door of our prison cell but they ignored us. Later they took us back to re-join the other pilgrims and to continue with our religious duties.
“At the Ankalia Airport, Turkey, Nigerian officials also dumped us there for five hours without explaining what was wrong.

“These sorts of things should not happen in a decent society.
“Some us who went for Jerusalem pilgrimage add JP after their names, but for us you will be free to call us Jerusalem Pilgrims Prisoner, JPP,” Father Zakka added.

Source: Vanguard

16 comments:

Please stop complaining.This is the cross you carried to follow christ.There is a lot of persecution in following Christ and only those that endured will reap the fruit.Peter ,paul, john the baptist,joseph to mention but a few all spent time in prison in Israel.

thats a shame these Arabs do not like africans and yes i said it israels are arab they look arab don't they?

Kemikal said...

What Israel did to our country people is wrong and not nice. Isreal is supposed to be a civilised country, but they treat black people like shit. You lot wasting your lives going to Israel and Saudi Arabia for pilgrimage need to understand Isreal and Saudi Arabia are among the most racist countries in the world. Jews and Arabs hate black people - especially black Africans. They don't give a damn about us. Search Google and YouTube and you will fully understand how they view and treat non whites, especially black Africans. They're racist and anti-black. Stay away. Christians, Jews and Muslims are the source of upheavals around the world. We need to plagiarize the Torah, Qur'an, Bible, Bhagavad Gita, Zend Avesta, raid the Nag Hammadi library and other Gnostic texts and create our own holy writ. A new religion - Fuckrism. Tell your friends you're a Fuckrist - a follower of Fuckrism. We need to carry out pilgrimage elsewhere and avoid humiliation. We need to invent our own holly prophet and pilgrimage in his or her back garden. I nominate myself. I'm a deity. I'm holy. Stick em up! Give me your tourist money, NOW.

I have a dream that one day, y'all will kiss my arse in the name of religion.

ibo boy said...

Shit happens when you are in a foreign country. Suck it up

vroomangel said...

Jerusalem Pilgrims Prisoners hahahahaha say what anything can happen to naija pple

Why're Nigerians always treated poorly outside of our shores? Answer...we don't even like ourselves @ home. Every tribe hates the others' guts. What could be worse that a few Hausa dickheads blasting off Christian Igbos who were leaving their place of worship? This is not the first time of course. Even on this blog the twit called Gbenga relentlessly depicts his/her hatred for Igbo women. @Kemikal I sincerely always look forward to your comments since they're most times spot on though with a taint of angst. I'm out! Dr. W

Bianca said...

With all the bad press Nigeria have been getting lately. This whole boko haram, 419 scam, terrotist, we better get ready to be treated with suspicion from other countries or people. It is what it is.

Kunle said...

I can't imagine Jesus Christ moaning to journalists, bloggers or lamenting on his Facebook page or Twitter that Jews won't let him ride his donkey into Jerusalem. These our Nigerian people are too weak. Why are they complaining? They were not crucified on the cross, they were not force fed vinegar, and neither were they made to wear a crown of thorns. They need to bear their cross and stop moaning. Christ suffered worst treatment at the hands of Jews, Arabs, Chinese and Hausa people.

Kemkal makes a good point: that jews and arabs hate blacks especially black Africans (even though a good chunk of them look black). You could not pay me to fly over the middle east including Israel. The place is a shit whole. All arabs and jews know how to do is fight and disturb the world with their never-ending bickering. arabs act like their shit don't stick and jews make sharaka b/c the holy land just happens to be inside their stolen country. Give me West Africa any day.

Ceejay @Glo free Browsing on laptop said...

I like the humour- JPP. Lol. Thank God they are back. But racism still happens in isreal? The holy land?

Ceejay @Glo free Browsing on Phone said...

I like the humour- JPP. Lol. Thank God they are back. Imprison for Christ.

Eerm @ kunle,if they strip n imprison u in a foreign country,u can throw dem a party,dats ur life biz and besides these ppl r not jesus christ.What happened is a gross violation of human dignity. By international law,they r entitled 2 compensation

why do black people think everybody hate them. Geez, sometimes it's not the case. You don't know how these people were behaving when they got there. I'm not saying such doesn't exist but sometimes let's look at what we are doing to or how we are behaving.

THE ISRAELIS WERE VINDICATED, CANT YOU GUYS READ, WHY WOULD YOU BLAME THEM... ''QUOTES'' ,( while this was going on, NCPC officials who were with us did not do anything. They just walked away.)''2,“At the Ankalia Airport, Turkey, Nigerian officials also dumped us there for five hours without explaining what was wrong..SO WHY BLAME ISRAELIS??

I share the same thought with Kemikal! Nigerians are too crazy about religion. What does one gain by going to Jerusalem? Does it make you more righteous or holier? All those who have been there are still more corrupt than those who have not. Will it take you to heaven or make you to see Jesus LIVE? All these are fuck.n shit, craps that will not lead you to nowhere!!!! These are all man made beliefs which the Whites have used to cheat and enslave us for long time!
They are hostile to the Nigerians because they don't believe in what the Pilgrims are coming to see! They regards the Pilgrims as FOOLS and indirectly showed it to them. But they cannot understand. Africans should do away with the Whites in all ramification and worship God in our own African way. This will reduce the ill treatment and the amount of money spent in such a wasteful venture called PILGRIMAGE, a means through which the Whites siphon our money and make us poorer!!
Ted Philips Effeh

Serves them right.... To what end is the pilgrimage, if not a senseless waste of money. Average nigerian can hardly afford a meal and crooks are going on stupid state sponsored pilgrimages.