Ex-Nigerian Olympian, Sunday Bada, Dies At 41 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 December 2011

Ex-Nigerian Olympian, Sunday Bada, Dies At 41

Former Olympic Silver medalist and Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) technical director, Sunday Bada, has passed away. The former police officer and sprinter slumped and died at the National stadium yesterday evening, Monday Dec 12th, 2011. He was 41 years old.

Bada was a member of Nigeria’s 4 x 400m mens team that won silver at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney. May his soul rest in peace...amen!

Abeg, how does someone just slump and die? How do we prevent such from happening to us? Any doctor in the house?

26 comments:

Atobatele said...

Slumped and die...My gosh.....May his soul rest in peace.

Heart failure perhaps. Too sad. may he RIP.

Linda, heart conditions.
Folks walk about with undetected heart conditions that often only show up when they slumpand die.
Even some that are detected are managed but just pack up suddenly.
Go for a thorough checkup regularly. It is not a luxury.
When anything is detected, be religious with your medications.
Being physically active is no saviour. Sportsmen have beenknown to slump and die suddenly.
Any little sympthom should be investigated extensively.seek a second medicalopinion if necessary.

Femi said...

Point of correction.
Bada was an Olympic Gold medalist, the americans were stripped of the 4X400mtrs Gold Michael Johnson inclusive (one of them tested positive for drugs use). Its quite sad, he got fatally injured during a police training program in India sometime back 9not sure if he ever recovered fully). He was such a fine officer. was also part of the team that captured the dreaded shina rambo back then. What a great loss. He was home based throughout his athletics career. Quite sad. May his soul RIP.

Candy said...

awwwh. na wa o. May his soul rest in peace.

sleekreek said...

Cases like this are mostly due to high blood pressure and most times the person is not even aware that he/she has a high blood pressure or the person might have been observing the symptoms but ignoring it.......the most common symptoms of high blood pressure: constant headache,dizziness,tiredness.......so its not a bad idea if one gets his/her blood pressure checked regularly.......

From God we come from,,and to HIM we shall return......may his soul rest in peace!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I heard he died there at the National Stadium...a true sportsman..
Very sad..this happens to nuff people in 9ja..the stress..puts a toll on people's health..we also need to know what's now in our food..'cos we got all this funny gentically modified food products we never had B4..and fake drugs in circulation!!..even now people get colds in 9ja..na wa o!!..

Lady T said...

May his soul rest in peace.
Sad one indeed

anything could be responsible for his death- it could be natural causes or perhaps he might have been taking drugs during his career but was never caught or it might have been an underlying and unnoticed heart condition (I am suspecting it is the latter). RIP Sunday Bada

chichiluv said...

He might have had a heart attack or an aneurysm, Linda...you sef, you dey wonder about everything. Why wouldn't someone slump and die? Is that some kind of new phenomenon? Our men...hell, most men are legendary for NOT wanting to go for regular annual physical check up especially for prostate and colon cancer which will require the doctor to tinker in their nether regions.

My step father went out with our dog to the pet store to purchase a leash for the dog and on getting back to the car, he was found with his head resting on the stirring wheel. He had suffered a massive heart attack, his heart just gave out. The dog barking called attention to the car which is how he was found.

This past January, a very close friend of mine was washing out some clothes before heading out for service, she might have felt something because she went back into the room, laid down and that was how she was found. She looked like she was sleeping with a slight smile on her face. She had died of an aortic aneurysm.

Death can strike quickly and silently. It isn't always accompanied by suffering, pain or by a tragic accident like a plane crash or through violence.

There are many causes of sudden death Linda and some can be unexplained, but an autopsy will have to be done to find the cause.
They should probably do this to save a life next time because it might be a preventable cause of death.
May his soul RIP.

orange said...

Poor soul. May he rest in piece. But looking at his puffy face. He looked like he has a medical condition. I wouldn't know if the Athletic Federation makes it compulsory for all their staff to do the yearly mandatory medical check like in U.S and other Western countries. If they have that in place, I'm sure this unfortunate incident might have been averted. It would have been known if he was fit to do the type of job he does or not. Life is very precious, Nigerian government and especially the law makers should take it as such and pass bills to protect the lives of the masses. A man of 41 is way too young to slump and die if things are in their proper places.

Deltagirl said...

Well, I am a student nurse...and I have 2 words for ya...Myocardial Infarction. It's the silent killer, and very few Nigerians visit their doctors regularly. May his soul RIP.

Tpy said...

most athletes who just 'slump and die' have a condition called hypertrophic cardiomyopathy(HCM). it presents with no symptoms almost 100% of the time the only symptom is sudden death..in the US they now routinely screen young athletes in high school for this heart condition. there was a cameroonian footballer Marc vivien foe who slumped and died right on the pith some years back. he died of HCM..after all said, may his soul rest in peace

Tpy said...

most athletes who just 'slump and die' have a condition called hypertrophic cardiomyopathy(HCM). it presents with no symptoms almost 100% of the time the only symptom is sudden death..in the US they now routinely screen young athletes in high school for this heart condition. there was a cameroonian footballer Marc vivien foe who slumped and died right on the pith some years back. he died of HCM..after all said, may his soul rest in peace

Its called Cardiac Arrest! It's the number one cause of death among men 40+

Funky doc said...

The only person that has made an educated And evidence based comment is TPY. Well done . HOCM is the commonest cause of sudden death in athletes in the world and not just the USA

To add to Tpy's comment. Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) or HOCM is a genetic disorder, so most times there is a history of a family member with the condition ...

ify said...

it's probably long Q-T syndrome or something.

grace said...

linda u dey fear death? dont worry ur time never reach! anyways i think it has sth to do with the heart.

Ask your politicians to stop chopping money and build a National Health Service Program. That way everyone's registered to a G.P. and can walk in for checks withoout worrying about the cost.

As long as healthcare remains at the bottoom of your President's priorities people like Mr Bada who served the country will continue to "slump & die"
... too sad!

@funky doc, arrogant doctors like you make me puke.

In a country where basic resuscitation techniques are not given as training to worker or ordinary citizens this is what happens you get! He must have suffered an arrest of some sort or has had a long standing cardiovascular disorder, his step mum did not have a hand in it. I don't know for now but the last time I checked we didn't have AED's in public facilities, still don't abi? God help that country....mcheeew!

adanma said...

@ TPY, u alone got it straight.
HCM Úª the heart disease dat kills dis way.
Not hypertension or myocardial infaction.
So my advice Úª, if u 've ever slumped of
an unexplained reason go get urself checked.

adanma said...

@ TPY, u alone got it straight.
HCM Úª the heart disease dat kills dis way.
Not hypertension or myocardial infaction.
So my advice Úª, if u 've ever slumped of
an unexplained reason go get urself checked.

Anon December 14, 2011 1:21 AM; thank you oh. What an uneducated comment from the so called Doctor.