D'Banj, Seun Kuti, Wizkid for Best African Act at 2011 MOBO Awards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 31 August 2011

D'Banj, Seun Kuti, Wizkid for Best African Act at 2011 MOBO Awards

Music of Black Origin, MOBO, have announced the nominees for this year's awards, and D'Banj, Seun Kuti, and Wizkid were nominated for Best Africa Act alongside Liquideep (South Africa), Cheikh Lo, Fatoumata Diawara, Owiny Sigoma Band, Smod, Spoek Mathambo and Viewux Farka Toure.

Jessie J, Adele and Tinnie Temper are leading the nominees list; Jason Derulo will co-host and BoysIIMen will perform

The awards ceremony will take place Oct. 5 in Glasgow, Scotland. Winners will be picked based on fan voting.

Big congrats to Wizkid, not an easy feat.

13 comments:

Sophie Gemal- Ms Universe Web Interview said...

Vote early, vote often!

Make dem win ni koko! Nomination no mean shit!

I'm not trying to discredit the other nominees, but how was M.I. not nominated? It's probably the same unexplained reason he wasn't nominated for the BET award while D'banj (name two other songs on his current album besides scapegoat and endowed. And don't say Oliver Twist cos that just came out now long after the BET awards) and Tuface (A re-released album) got the nods.

Why should the event be held in Glasgow...an European and White Society...

Marciwoods said...

Wizkid is already d winner cuz i tink he has got more fans....lyk me**smilin**linda i luv u blog...u noni gan...

MY NAIJA LIFESTYLE said...

congrats to d 3 repping naija! we proud of y'al!!!

Wow, congrats . Nigerian musicians are going places.
btw Linda i saw this on vanguard and guardian about a nigerian who won the TR35 young innovators in the world or something. Look it up and you can share if you desire
http://www.vanguardngr.com/2011/08/nigerian-receives-technology-innovation-award/
http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=59212%3Anigerian-scientist-adesokan-makes-list-of-worlds-top-young-innovators-&catid=31%3Abusiness&Itemid=562

kkdlegend said...

now thats wasaaaap . Vote good, my pple

*ajalahtravel* said...

I want liquiddeep to win. Those guys are the bomb. I'm voting for them and that's for sure.

*ajalahtravel*

@Anonymous 12:12, Why don't you host them in your shit-hole house. You can't even write proper English 'AN EUROPEAN'....Moron!

sleekreek said...

Wizkid.......awon eleyi,won bad gan
D-Banj.......alwayz reprezenting,,,,,am a big fan of both.....wish them the best!!

liquid deep all the way.

Whiz Kid? most overrated artist of the year, his half-baked music, wannabe follow follow shit.