Funmi Iyanda’s “Lagos Stories” Nominated at Monte Carlo Television Festival Award | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 June 2011

Funmi Iyanda’s “Lagos Stories” Nominated at Monte Carlo Television Festival Award

Funmi Iyanda with Fellow Award Nominee Felicity Huffman and William H. Macy
Mr. Ilemakin Soyinka, Chris Dada, Funmi Iyanda, Mr. Ashamu Fadipe, Mr. Dapo Awobotu
“Lagos Stories”, an episode of My Country Nigeria, a three-part documentary on Nigeria produced by Funmi Iyandaand Chris Dada and aired on the BBC was nominated in the News Competition of the 51st Monte Carlo Television Festival in the category Best News Documentary. It was nominated alongside works from renowned broadcasters such as U.S. network HBO, France’s Arte and Germany’s Zdf. Past recipients of the festival awards include multi award winning televisions dramas Mad Men and Lost.

The Monte Carlo Television Festival Award ceremony took place on June 10th 2011 in Monaco and was hosted by HRH Prince Albert II of Monaco.
With Lagos Stories Funmi Iyanda takes viewers on an insiders’ tour of the vibrant city – from the exclusive salons to the urban ghetto of AJ City, she meets characters from all walks of life revealing the resilience, resourcefulness and spirit of Lagosians. Enter Governor Fashola charged with the herculean task of organizing Lagos; Charly Boy, the cult hero spokesman for outcast bikers and the influential AJ City ghetto artists creating the musical styles and dances that spread over the entire continent.

Lagos Stories was broadcast in October 2010 on BBC World in as part of the “My Country Nigeria” series commemorating Nigeria’s 50th year of Independence and is an Ignite Media and Spark UK production.

Funmi Iyanda Producer Lagos Stories, Chris Dada

15 comments:

Nigeria Best Jobs said...

She's absolutely stunning!

Fanstuff said...

Nice smile. Congrats to her. She's such a natural person.
Great, in separate pictures with Mr and Mrs Macy aka "Filliam H. Muffman"

Hi Linda, please blog this http://chizys-spyware.blogspot.com/2011/06/bellanaija-founder-uche-eze-and-femi.html

NAETO-C GAL FRIEND said...

and why the green granny gown???

william H macy??? ewwww....#gurlbye

I was at Silverbird Cinemas sometime last year, early 2010, and in the cnema hall, there was Funmi Iyanda and a couple of her friends. I believe the movie to be shown that day was 'Inception'. Funmi was such a loud mouth that evening before the movie started. She kept chatting in a loud voice, as if to make sure everyone in the cinema hall should know she was there. She would scream at the top of her voice and belched out silly laughter which sounded like she had a disturbed orgasm! To say many in the Cinema hall were disgusted, including me, would be putting it mildly. 'Oh, I was in South Africa and I met with Desmond Tutu!', she would scream, 'we had lunch...he was such a dear' and she would go and on about who she had met. Silly thwart! Mercifully, the movie started and she had to keep quiet..only for a while. That incident changed my opinion of her from an average presenter to an attention seeker. Now, with these pics of her with William Macy and co, I guess the next time she is at the cinemas, we nor go hear word again. Hisssssssssssssss

Did Funmi have work done on her face cos i don't remember her this beautiful, maybe her nose??

Sir Talk said...

I have a crush on her since when I was a kid. I know someday I will marry her.

good for Funmi!!

Is Funmi Sick? Is she managing an illness because her look has changed greatly from the Funmi Iyanda I know. I am curious.

@anonymous 11:10 what has that gotten to do with what's been discussed here must you comment at all *smh* SHADE OKOYA

j said...

gosh this woman keeps inspiring me
I love her boubou abi na tunic abi wetin we go call am?
aunty funmi your braids is in a hot mess like mine lol
we both need to see a hairdresser asap

bad belle people half of you have no jobs let alon one people will recorgnise you for. be happy for her and madam movie if she shout na your mouth,you sef go meet mandela make you go movie go shout. if it was Oprah am sure you would hail her like she is not human. your choice of clothe F.I completly yours .if e tight now abi e short na una for first laugh am.your hair (at leat its not 55 inches brazillian or peruvian hair) madam bad hair day,go and make your hair,no use funmi take lie say your 6 months brais is a hot mess rubbish

FI has always been loud but i love her to bits all the same.

Magnetic!

She's not managing any sickness, she just left d hospital a day b4 d awards, she twitted abt it. @ anonymous cinema, u shuld av blocked ur ears. Its not her fault dat she knows people. She's a fellow of d bishop tutu fellowship. Bad belle.

naija kween said...

so proud nigeria is being represented internationally and not for 419. I love her glow. i love the fact shes rocking braids in an elegant updo and not the usual indian abi na brazillian weave. when you go to oyinbo land do ur thing and stand out. and as a naija i feel the green :)
Anonymous vexer... e easy? hug a transformer abeg. i hope she comes back even louder so nigeria can get recognition beyond 419 and now bombs. naija women are truly representing!!!!!!!