Beyonce's new video. Check out where she got some of her dance routine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 May 2011

Beyonce's new video. Check out where she got some of her dance routine

25 comments:

Na true you talk
some niggaz here no dey like make u dey tell them that they are from african.
Im so proud to be African!

Janyl Benyl said...

Aww she did a great job

Err she never denied that her choreography was African-inspired. From day 1, we were told she flew in over 100 dancers from the continent so calm down.

The media says Beyonce's famous moments are coming to an end. Honestly, she is no longer as creative as she used to be.

it can't be a call out, because she contacted the guys ( in the yellow shirt)to be part of her dance team for the video and they are in her video also, meaning they got paid. they are the two men in front of her, its not like she's trying to hide it. she said she was in part inspired by Fela for this album. people just want to keep making everything a big deal. sheesh

ADEBOLA said...

2 OF THE GUYS WERE IN THE VIDEO WITH HER, SO WHATS THE PERSON THAT MADE THIS VIDEO'S PROBLEM, ACTING LIKE THEY HAVE UNCOVERED SOME SORT OF MYSTERY.. MSHEWWW!!

twasn't a bad idea for her to bring this to our notice. Tnx Linda!

Never mind the choreography, the similarities go without saying...however, hasn't anyone spotted that the actual beats of the tracks are not that dissimilar???
Hmmmmm....Food for thought!!! ("What came first, the chicken or the egg?" scenario comes to mind!)...Perhaps even Copyright laws...The mind boggles...

African inspired would be you took a few steps and mixed it in with your own.

When you do the exact routine the same way it was previously done it is no longer just inspiration!
Nothing new Beyonce took Single Ladies dance from an 80s video it is on youtube.

Do you really expect her to have an intro in the beginning of the video saying "Hello Viewers, Here's my video for my song Who Run The World and the dances are African Inspired." That one nah long thing abeg. She never said she made them up herself. Maybe she can give credits during interviews but that's about it.

I'm so tired of Beyonce. I never like this woman. i get that she is a great dancer and singer, but when it comes to creativity, people give her way more credit than necessary. i hate when people say comments like "so and so is copying beyonce" when HELLO, most times she gets her stuff from other places, so when her brainless and mindless fans start attacking others for doing something that has been done long before beyonce's time, it just irritates me. I stopped being a Beyonce fan in 2005, i just got sick of her. and besides, she is part of the Illuminati, so....anyway, thats my two cents.

Lol... MJ's most famous step is the moonwalk, and he did not invent that, so what's the biggie here?

Beyonce = Exposure

Obscure African Dancers = Obscure African Dance Steps

Uju said...

I think it's a good think that she took inspiration from African dances and included the African dancers in the video too. South African dance moves are so interesting to watch!

she has 5 more minutes for her relevance to be up/...she has done well for herself and been very successful but knowing when to stop is a whole different storry. she is over 30 and has been in this since she was a young teenager...Beyonce, stop while you are ahead..this last video of urs was an epic fail

Femiluv said...

hahaha @ these dudes making it seem like they exposed some sort of cover up lmao!

People need to relax mehn, cut her some slack if you can if not stfd please. She already stated this coming album is African inspired, featured african dancers to let the world know the root of the dance moves so what else???
Release a single explaining how she concieved the idea of doing the african dance to how she contacted the guys or what smh

Some of you just get too uptight, please its not that serious or deep ok.
And to those who said her shine is getting some shade, well when she's through getting the major shows, juicy endorsement, mega bucks acting roles and probably when she stopped being a blonde, she will holla
*Till then, go sit your freaking fat ass'es down and listen to Jessica simpson or Britney spears...LOL
Yes Im staning for BEY, She's back bitches'

Scratch that. I was typing too fast. I meant to say I completely stopped listening to her music in 2005 and was only a fan in her Destiny's Child days despite her hogging the spotlight.

Ms. J said...

come on people!!! whats the big deal??? so she can dance 'bata' and 'sokus' now, so what? but i could ve swown it was benue dance lol..

Linda next time make sure you do more research and mention the exact country these boys are from. These boys are from MOZAMBIQUE, and you should specify the country rather than generalize that it is an African group like the Americans always do.

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

Sooner or later, we all have to accept the fact that NOBODY in the entertainment industry is original. They all draw inspiration from somewhere so quit with all the comparisions. Just bcos say una fat, ain't got millions in the bank and ain't married to uncle Jay-Z no give una right to dey hate @ dis kain level.

Queen Bey nothing do you ;-)

Ms zee said...

But she did say the whole album was Africa inspired everything, the beats, the dance moves, the fashion it is her tribute to Fela and Africa . Im glad though and these men can dance Big up South Africa :)

this confirms what I just give credit to the pips you borrow ideas from you. Shakira is another borrower

Damisola said...

As it has always been said, no idea is one hundred per cent original. Even MJ's famous "mama say, mama sa makossa" (however, it is spelled) was borrowed/infringed (whatever) from an african. Whether she has 5 mins in the spotlight or a million more years, fact is for now she is relevant. So whether you hate her or you love her, the fact remains she has made a name for herself without any scandals.She already admitted it was african inspired and besides she is such a hardworker. My Goodness, how many Africans know their own cultural dances and she learnt all of that in a few months. She is an inspiration to me.

To Anonymous, &:03, these boys are not from South Africa but Mozambique. Get your facts right.

i smell a lawsuit and i see the $$$$$