Rihanna sued by celeb photographer David LaChapelle over 'S&M video | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 February 2011

Rihanna sued by celeb photographer David LaChapelle over 'S&M video

Left, LaChapelle's work. Right Scenes from RiRi's S&M Video

From Billboard

Rihanna’s lurid and brightly colored music video “S&M” was “directly derived” from pictures taken by prominent U.S. fashion photographer David LaChapelle, he said in a lawsuit made public on Monday.

LaChapelle, who has shot celebrities for magazines such as Rolling Stone, GQ and Vanity Fair, said “the music video is directly derived from and substantially similar to the LaChapelle works.”

Rihanna, 22, has sold over 25 million albums worldwide and dominated music charts in the U.S. with singles such as “Umbrella” and “What’s My Name.” The single “S&M”, however, has fizzled on the charts, and the video has been banned in some countries for its sexual content.

In the suit, LaChapelle said Rihanna had appropriated eight of his images into the video, such as a shot where she is shown in profile against a blue background with a piece of candy on her tongue.

LaChapelle said Rihanna’s video copied the “composition, total concept, feel, tone, mood, theme, colors, props, settings, decors, wardrobe and lighting” of his work.

He is suing for unspecified damages. A spokeswoman for Rihanna did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

9 comments:

1 scene is a coincidence but 8, common riri u can do better dan dat

hahahahaha, no talent whatsoever, and she has no creativity whatsoever.
im so tired of this ashawo illuminati girl. lol
she should just sit down or go back to the barbados or something

common they are not similar at all ..lachapelle ge a life!!

anonymous 2 - spot on

Femiluv said...

Wow....waaaaay too similar! It's not her fault I guess, she wasn't the creative director of the vid.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

i give two years......just two years

Abike said...

Anon 5:35 o le chewing gum s'oju ni?

@ skank

You gave her two years two years ago!

All of you are absolute ignorant fucks.
Yes, she copied. So what? Who ever comes up with their own things these days?
I've read about Beyonce copying, and Jennifer Lopez, so what?
As far as I am concerned, the photographer is just a man suffering from relative poverty looking for someone to suck money out of.
Be proud that Rihanna is using your things.
How many of us knew him before he sued?
FAME and MONEY.
End of.