Lagos ranked 4th worst livable city in the world 2011 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 February 2011

Lagos ranked 4th worst livable city in the world 2011

A report released February 21, 2011 by The Economist Intelligence Unit, have ranked Lagos as the 4th worst city to live in the world. Lagos ranked 137 out of the 140 most livable cities in the world.

The ranking was based on health care, culture, infrastructure, environment, and stability. Lagos was rated 39.0 overall. Lagos scored 48.2 in infrastructure, 25 in stability, 52.3 in culture.

Zimbabwe's capital, Harare, was ranked the worst place to live in the world due to high rates of crime, violence, war, while Vancouver in Canada and Melbourne in Australia were number one and two respectively on the list of most liveable cities in the world.

30 comments:

"culture"????? who are they to judge someone else's culture?

funny enough, because Harare actually looks really good, reminds me of Abuja. maybe its not so beautiful on the "inside"
but FUCK those rankings, its all bullshit.

bukky said...

LINDA pls use ur english well. 137 of the most livable is very different from worst livable, cos they are definately more than 140 cities in the world and if we are to rank lagos among the worst livable, lagos will never be the worst. P.S have u ever left lagos for places like ipetu in osun state

Linda Ikeji said...

@bukky read ur English well dear. There may be over 500 cities in the world but according to this survey, there are only 140 cities that are livable..and Lagos ranks 4th worst. Not that I agree with them..i'm just reporting news.

chinwe said...

bukky, pls go and lie down somewhere. ipetu in osun state is not a city. this ranking is for major cities. where global firms are most likely to do business.

The problem with Nigerians is that the majority of us are all in denial. Instead of directing outrage at the people responsible for works, power, transport etc. we direct the anger at the people doing the rankings. How will that solve anything? of course lagos is one of the worst places to live in. Think armed robbery, the state of our markets, power supply, the standard of services we get from banks, the state of the roads, public transportation i.e. danfo and molue with hanging conductors and shirtless drivers and all that shit.
We are dulling seriously in this country and the sad thing is we don't even know it.

Fuck'em list

Denial...you Nigerians can continue denying your madness. after living in the States for 14 yrs, spain for 2 yrs and UK for 1.5yrs, i came to Nigeria for 8 months and yes...it's got to be the shittiest hell hole in this universe. even the so called posh Ikoyi stinks like a refuse dump. everyone and their mama trying to scam you of some naira once they sense you are JJC. relatives can even send someone to kidnap you all for money...that's a shit hole. All the good restaurants, Cactus, Chocolate Royal, eetc are owned by foreigners. Drivers, cooks, gateman etc alll lie thru their teeth all for money. You can't even send anyone to buy you common gala, they come back and jack up the price...the only countyr where you get robbed at a police checkpoint by people wearing police uniforms. oop my bad, its the best city in the world

phunmy said...

@ bukky
you are olodo rabata!!! how can we be talking of cities and you are here making mention of ipetu in osun state. i am a native of ipetu and for your information, ipetu is just a developing village not a city or dont you know the difference between a village and a city?

zany said...

they are not so freaking serious........LAGOS my dream state.... where i wanna stay 4 rest of my Life God's willing........make dem tak deir timeooooo

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

haha. i don't blame them... it's kind of true. bad roads, no light, poor transport system...everything is soo hard for the average person to live in Lagos. like someone else said it's the most expensive ghetto in the world. but i still love my lagos jor!

I believe they came to such conclusion having watched WELCOME TO LAGOS. well who cares about their rankings

http://chizys-spyware.blogspot.com

We don't need international agency to tell us what we all know. Lagos is the mostexpensive ghetto in the world. The fact that Lagos is the 4th worst city to live in the whole wide world is no news.

Lagos has the worst of everything. The people don't care about the environment, the government don't know how to manage nothing. From bad road to absolutely no health care for the citizens. People driving the most expensive cars in land where most are hungry and has no hope. You don't even want to get me started on electricity supply. The fact is, no country can survive without constatnt electricity.

it basically means 4th to last in terms of most livable cities included in the survey. but i don't think this was a survey for "worst" cities. soooooo.....
bukky is kinda right.

Ipetu-boy said...

@phummy - i be omo Ipetumodu too sha, ba wo ni?.....lol...IPETU Stand UP!!!!

@bukky - are u from Ipetumodu??? abeg no diss us oh....we dey try for our own levels....lol...

who knew Ipetumodu kids were dis web savvy....lol....

@linda - abeg add Ipetu to the list of "MOST live-able small towns in naija".....hehehhe

chizobaaa said...

linda i think u should rename that title 'worst'.lagos was compared against 140 other cities not in the world okay??
english is no longer easy to read for some folks these days smh

naso said...

this is why i always feel like fashola is overrated...everybody keeps shouting fashola fashola but i've not really seen any major thing he has done...crime is now increasing in lagos...when i was there we used generator every single day..there was no light...the only thing i can agree with is that the roads have improved but still...the guy is not all that in my opinion

phunmy said...

@ ipetu- boy
Which side of ipetumodu are you from? look like we are starting a family meeting here on linda`s blog. can you imagine that bukky making a mess of our city.i wonder which village she come from....i guess its madakeke, na them dey behave like that. meanwhile,wole o jeko ati akara.

Ouch, the truth hurts!!!

We need to stop deceiving ourselves jor and stop getting mad when the truth is brought to our face. I know it's hard to accept, but ACCEPTANCE is the first step to CHANGE.

That's the problem, some naijas are only lookng from their little bubble. Go out there and see what a developing or developed city is suppose to be like. If you know, stop being in a state of denial.

Forget about all the big colorful houses but what about the extremely bad roads, no well equipped hospital, overpopulation, hunger/starvation, messed up school system, no justice system at all that actually works etc

Abeg, there's a lot to mention. I have given up because a lot of naijas are still not getting the point and don't want to. It's sad.

I admire some Asian and Latin countries, who took the harsh criticism and turned it to something positive. Now, Westerners are looking up to them.
I just don't know what happened to Nigerians. We are so book smart but lack a lot of common sense.

well isn't that why Lekki Free Trade Zone and Eko Atlantic City are being built up? well, THEY SAY, its main purpose is to create jobs and then use that to generate enough revenue to then AID in the fixing and beautification of other parts of Lagos (im guessing the mainland).

hater said...

so true! so true! so true!

totally in agreement with anonymous 2:30pm

Surprise said...

My Lagos try o for even appearing on the list in the 1st instance. There a lot of other cities that the people carrying out the survey did not know exist in the universe. As we used to say in those days 'somebody that scored zero, scored somnething. There are people whose papers are not marked'.

Things are getting better in lagos sha.

holaberry said...

@ Suprise,yes o! Our Lagos can only get better...

@ anonymous 12:27, they are judging our culture(which is our way of life, thinking and the way we do things).They didn't judge our traditions.

Lagos na demo in the midst poverty.That city reeks of poverty, armed robbery and other terrible things.Just because we see people looking like hollywood stars on bella naija doesnt mean a larger percent of the population lives that way.So many poor people, bad roads, armed robbery, bad police system.It is terrible.Yet people will be popping champagne and eating N30,000 sushi and acting like it is all well and good.The standard of living is terrible and the average decent family cannot afford the basic things. A lot of us are trying to be like the Jonses, trying to live it up that we dont even see how terrible and twisted things are.Pls, lets stop deceiving ourselves and see Lagos for what it is.

Chilling said...

Totally agree. It's just one big ghetto! Well said anon February 26, 2011 2:30 PM

Lagos is a terrible city that rips out the life out of lagosians on a daily bases.i concur with the ranking

Thomas

Linda, the survey talks about Lagos being ranked 137th of 140 most livable cities. It suggests that Lagos is livable but compared to the other 140 it ranked low. Thats doesnt make it the 4th worst city to live in, in this world!

Musty said...

Leave them with their rating. Lagos will soon become the Mega City by the grace of God and the efforts of Governor BRF.

Two weeks in Nigeria and I am ready to go. I don't stay in that country beyond 2 weeks. I am not surprised that Lagos is the 4th worst city whether you are counting from top down or from bottom up. My father tells me stories of Lagos during is time and I don't think it is the same city. All of Nigeria can be counted as the worst place to live because the stealing, looting, corruption, lack of health care and social services, lack of justice and education, poor transportation system if you can call what we have that, lack of light, water and decent roads plague EVERY city/town/village in Nigeria, not just Lagos.

It is very sad o, very very sad what we have become as a nation. Some of our greatest minds are toiling away making other countries but ours great, maka why? Because thieving politicians have made things so bad in the country that people are leaving in droves!

Economist Magazine is a biased publication..bad journalism.

Anya said...

To the first Anon on Feb 26: my thoughts exactly! How can they judge another person's culture to be included in the criteria for the survey? But come to think of it, yes, culture is man-made and not divine, hence criticizable. A culture of uncleanliness is not a good culture at all. I say if you want to know the quality of a people, check their toilets. Nigerian public toilets (not the ones in hotels), I mean those ones in local centres are a disaster - time bomb waiting to explode!

Why won't they rank us as the 4th worse liveable city, when we can't seem to get right even basic social and infrastructural amenities?