Jessica Simpson's Fashion Empire Nearing $1 Billion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 14 February 2011

Jessica Simpson's Fashion Empire Nearing $1 Billion

Jessica Simpson's fashion empire is projected to make history this year, by becoming the first ever celebrity fashion line to earn one billion dollars in annual sales. The singer-turned fashion designer's clothing line raked in an astonishing $750 million dollars in sales last year, making it the top selling celebrity clothing empire.

Jessica, 30, launched her Jessica Simpson Collection in 2007 with a line of handbags, shoes and boots and has since expanded it to include watches, clothing, cosmetics, luggage, bathing suits, and fragrances, which are all sold in major department stores across America.

Her sales have risen by almost a quarter in the last 12 months and that put her in the same league as American fashion titans - Michael Kors, Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Vera Wang and Donna Karan.

13 comments:

it should be,she deserves it!
jessica makes the most amazing shoes,bags and accessories
she sure has got eyes
at least if she's not so lucky in the love department heres something that can at least make her smile
good luck jess
love ya

Icredible right? Just from retail manufacturing because that is what she does, she is not a designer. not very difficult as manufacturers more often than not copy existing styles etc. She's been threatened with law suits in the past for copying peoples styles! The trick is to try and make it your own with a few changes here and there.The difficulty lies in pushing the brand and making it known.However, you have to have the business sense to push your brand. And she already has her celebrity name doing that for her!!Again, America has a huge retail market. Kudos to her. I'm sure Nick Lachay (not sure) regrets the break up of their marriage!

ferrari said...

Her stuff are very good quality and not that pricey. I love the faux croc skin handbags. I rocked mine almost everyday for over a year, pretty durable.

why would nick regret their break up, doesn't he have his own money? it may not be billion dollar, but he and his fiance def have enough. money is not everything my friend. with all her money, how come she hasn't kept a man. leaving nick was her loss actually bc she's been running around with the wrong guys ever since but nick has been with one woman since then so who should be regretting what? n btw i believe it was her who wanted to break up as soon as she started making the money, but money doesn't n can't buy happiness my friend. oh n kudos to the girl, i luv her shoes n im a proud owner of a very fierce pair myself n got my girlfriend one too dat was just too fierce as well. i don't care for the handbags n other things tho but the shoes are great!!

She makes ranks amongst the best shoe designers in this world, her shoes are just outta this world for girls who dare to stand apart.

Drajke said...

Smh @ comments about her love life...

What has that got to do with anything?

jessica simpson shoes actually rock

skankmypeaceofmind said...

if the music and movies aren't cut out for you, then do something you really and truly know how to do and in her case that is fashion

Lollie said...

I believe it. I have contributed to that 1 billion too.
I love love love love her stuf. I have 4 shoes by her, 2 bags, and my sexy pea coat that everyone adores! She has an awesome fashion sense, in picking what her label represents.
In additiona all her stuff are Great Quality, and affordable, unlike these stupid $900 ugly shoes people rock.

Photoshop!!Jessica Simpson is wayyy bigger than that!All the same kudos to her! SHe's doing well!

Omoye Uzamere said...

Jessica Simpson makes bad music in my opinion, but her design is amazing. She's the first celebrity to make good design. Her shoes are just great. I've had mine for years and they're still rocking, people always ask me about them. My colleague thinks they're wack, but she's yet to experience the top quality of the J. Factor

Chichiluv said...

Like play, like play o hmm lol. People looked at her and thought she was a bottle blond mumu, see dere?

She doesn't design those things personally, she's got a slew of people who do it for her and they are well paid for their creativity. She signs her name and it sells. I might buy one of her shoes since everyone is raving about them, I don't know. I doubt it.

I have never ever been a fan of purchasing celebrity endorsed or celebrity "created" items because I feel that they are just spokes people for these items, they don't really create, not on the levels of real designers like Michael Kors, Marc Jacobs etc AND also, when I see how they are spending the money, e for pain me sey my money dey enta dere, for instance, when Jessica Simpson went on a shopping spree and spent thousands just on under wear, even Nick told her to return them because it was a waste. I mean, okay it's their money, they offer to sell their names/images, the people buy it and so they can spend it like they want but I no go lie, e dey vex me and you can call it bad belle if you want LOL.

Who cares about Nick. I mean really, it's not as if they have children or she spent all of her good years with him. She is still young, vibrant, and attractive. With all the money she is making, I bet next to her, Nick is broke. All that money more than makes up for Nick. Nick who?