Black Gold (Struggle for the Niger Delta) official trailer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 February 2011

Black Gold (Struggle for the Niger Delta) official trailer

14 comments:

All I can say is WOW. This is definitely a must see movie. Tears were in my eyes just watching the trailer. The part showing the pipeline explosion was so sad, especially knowing that part is not fiction.

Haba! Despite the international cast, and international setting the movie still looks like something shot for home video consumption... Na wa...

I like.........but errrm who gave mopol shield? Lwkmd.

I love my Nollywood pple dddaaayyyuuum I am so excited,cann't wait to see this !
It's a reality & also a step up for Nollywood, check out the cast ! At least if the Nigerian entertainment wants to collaborate with the U.S celebs let it be for a good/positive cause ! Vivica Fox ! daayyuum!

Theresa said...

I love this movie,a sure sign of change in nollywood and naija. God bless the Amata boy who is always churning out great movies! May he continue to go higher. I pray others in nollywood aspire higher too and stop using lebanese as whites who can barely speak english or act. Btw where can i get this movie in Ireland?

@ Therasa, am in Ireland too oh, hope thy bring it to cine world. Please God they will.

That Hakeem's accent was rubbish. I still don't understand why Jeta refused to use a hundred percent nigerian as the lead and if so wanted to use Hakeem why didn't he give him some serious accent coaching like they did leonardo in blood diamond. By the way Chiwetel Ejiofor would have done a better job at the accent.
The movie looks good but i doubt its depth. Jeta's movies always fail to capture my emotions but let's wait and see.
FINGERS CROSSED

That Hakeem's accent was rubbish. I still don't understand why Jeta refused to use a hundred percent nigerian as the lead and if so wanted to use Hakeem why didn't he give him some serious accent coaching like they did leonardo in blood diamond. By the way Chiwetel Ejiofor would have done a better job at the accent.
The movie looks good but i doubt its depth. Jeta's movies always fail to capture my emotions but let's wait and see.
FINGERS CROSSED

Ronke said...

I'mnot gonna lie,this is pretty impressive.The trailer actually makes sense for once!

Abike said...

yadiyadiya some people will always "talk". Nice trailer. I agree, cineworld should show it but they didn't show why did I get married too so I'm seriously doubting this will show. oh well...

why is jet amata always using that stale Hakeen guy? he was also in "Inale" with his fake ass accent. hisss....
anyway, NICE TRAILER

Mehn, I can't wait to see this movie. It's going to be a great one. Kudos to Jeta.

Some Nigerians will die complaining.

why is everyone on this blog attacking Hakeem's accent? It is far better to use an accent that everyone will understand and Hakeem attempts to come across to Nigerians despite his strong British accent. Can you imagine Jim Iyke playing Hakeem's role in this movie with his fake and nauseating accent? I thank Jeta Amata for stepping up the game and using both Nigerian and International movie stars for his movies and I pray Nollywood will continue to get better and stronger- we should all be applauding the efforts of our movie industry to improve each year rather than attacking the likes of Hakeem's accent or engaging in tit-for-tat with Ghanaians over whether Nollywood or Ghollywood is better- who knows, in years to come, Nigerian-born film experts (producers, directors, actors, stylists, etc) will decide to come back to Nigeria to lend a hand to our movie industry. It does not seem so now but 10 years from now, Nigeria will surely be a giant on the world stage- sports, cinema, economy, politics, etc

Uhmmm, I don't wanna come off as one of the Nigerians who will 'die complaining' (God forbid), but I honestly think the character Hakeem played would have come off stronger if played by Nigerian (just saying), because while we may want to disregard any bias in professionalism, I just can't get past the fact that it's a non-Nigerian accent I hear from the supposed (Nigerian)character defending a Nigerian cause. Nonetheless, his acting wasn't less good. Don't get me wrong. I'm not trying to shoot down the efforts of our fine producer, Jeta, it's just constructive criticism- let the actor fit the character.

Miranda.