One Million Living With HIV/AIDS In Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 December 2010

One Million Living With HIV/AIDS In Lagos

Dr Jide Idris (centre) addressing the press at the State Secretariat, Alausa yesterday
No fewer than one million people are currently living with HIV and AIDS in Lagos State, that is according to Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr Jide Idris, who made this known yesterday at the 2010 celebration of World AIDS Day

If one million people have AIDS in a State with a population of 18 million, this simply suggests that one out of every eighteen resident of Lagos is infected with the killer disease?

Sorry I'm not buying that!

27 comments:

NaijaScorpio said...

U better start buying it because i honestly think it's worse. When people start to bury their heads in the sand and pretend that this disease is not as prevalent as it is, nobody does anything about the high infection rates because you think it's not that bad.

It is that bad and not just in Lagos.

Prism of an Immigrant said...

What do you mean Linda? Do you think he underestimated or overestimated? I think his figure is just about 5%, which isn't too far off from the last prevalence rate of about 3%. Idk, just my two cents.....

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com

It is an accurate estimate. Nigeria has the highest number of infected people in Africa ... Much Higher than SA. Our population makes prevalence lower. The disease is concentrated (mainly) in the urban areas and metropolis. One in eighteen is about right for Lagos. I estimate it may be a bit higher. Country prevalence is about 5% or so.
My credentials -- MD + MSc

It is an accurate estimate. Nigeria has the highest number of infected people in Africa ... Much Higher than SA. Our population makes prevalence lower. The disease is concentrated (mainly) in the urban areas and metropolis. One in eighteen is about right for Lagos. I estimate it may be a bit higher. Country prevalence is about 5% or so.
My credentials -- MD + MSc

there are 1 million people infected with HIV!

there are NOT 1 million people with AIDS.

ps: HIV is a chronic illness and when it progresses to AIDS, then its possible that death results.
there are now treatments to control HIV and prevent it from becoming AIDS.

Linda , please be careful about what you right.

Linda dear, yes believe the numbers. AIDS no dey show for face. I can safely say that Lagos numbers are shocking and very hiiiigh but very true.

Lollie said...

I do buy it, and to be honest I actually think it is underestimated.
Given the denial that goes along with the general population in Nigeria, the stigma that goes along with people who do have, and the fact that majority of people do not know what their HIV status is.

My dear, you would be surprised. i personally believe that number is an under estimation. Spend some time in a hospital in Lagos and you'll see the patients that come in for medication et al. It's a shame but a lot of people are still ignorant about the fact that AIDS is out there and spreading still.

As an HIV/AIDS consulting medical doctor in Abuja told me, if I knew the people who were his patients, I would open my mouth like a fool!
One of his patients paid for his ticket for vacation in Europe and America. I do believe the numbers, and actually fear that it is higher, remember, not all HIV/AIDS patients look like skeletons.I met two ladies recently, individually they weighed at least 250 pounds each, very fat and round. Between them they had been battling HIV/AIDS for 18 years.

U'd be surprise but its so true!
i am a pharmacist at a general hospital in lagos and we attend to no fewer than 25 HIV patients daily and the number keeps increasing.

PROPAGANDA! don't buy it either!

9jaLife said...

Where these folks get their stats from is beyond me. If that many have HIV here, then it's gotten to major epidemic proportions...

Naija govt officials and statistics sef...

http://www.avert.org/aids-nigeria.htm

oh well..... u can choose not 2 buy it. at the end of the day.it is wot is is babes. for dose dat dont no their status . i suggest u stop living in ignorance.

AIDS is real. The figure may be overinflated, however it shows there's a real problem with the scourge. Condoms all the way please. It's just that so many people are ignorant when it comes to using condoms.

You are not buying that? You sound so ignorant.It is not for you to buy it or agree with the statistics. It is for you to educate yourself,those around you, protect yourself, get tested.

My cousin works in a Government Lab in Lagos (Yaba) and he said the HIV rate is much much higher than people know. He said practically everyone who comes to get tested is HIV positive. From the Unilag student to the pregnant mother he said HIV is an epidemic in Lagos and Nigeria as a whole.

So if you like be sitting there saying you dont buy it.

CC said...

You're not buying it? You think there's more, or there's less... because I can guarantee you there's actually much more than one million people infected with HIV in Lagos state.

Just play "who's sleeping in your bed" One person who has 5 sex partners, who have each had 5 sex partners, is not just sleeping with those 5 people but 25 people in total. As long as people are careless about condoms and use sex as currency, HIV/AIDS is going to have large numbers in mega cities like Lagos.

Jezzzz, Linda are you hearing?

Don't buy it, when you catch am you go know.
AIDS no dey look face o!

Linda. AIDs no dey show for face, there is a reason someone came up with that catch phrase. I actually believe the statistics.

Ade_Cool said...

A lot of walking Dead..of course most wouldn't go check their status..silly African mentality..as for me o! no full medical check up no baby making business!!
Abuja's even meant to be much worse with all those Politicians and runs girls all infecting each other..Lawd help them all!!

Linda please buy it- HIV/AIDS is very very rampant in Nigeria- the disease took a number of people that I know to their graves and it is men who are sleeping around with prostitutes then going home to infect their unsuspecting wives with it- so wives, please please make it your business to know what your husband gets up to and please don't take it quietly if your husband cheats on you- it could be a death sentence!

HIV/AIDS is real and rampant! The way our men chase about women is alarming and most of them have paid the price and unfornately infect their wives and unborn kids with it. I hope Lagos or Nigeria will not be like a documentary I saw the other day in a German TV about Uganda village where no adult existed. Only children (most of them got it too from their dead parents) and Grannys. The other day, a friend of mine called me and was shaking and I asked why, and he said: "I met a lady and told her we should become lovers and she replied, I can´t because I´m HIV positive (this happen in Germany, sha). My friend was shaking because he said this was the most prettiest lady he has ever met and not in his wildest dream he could´ve thought of her being positive. So you see, most of the people walking around you might be positive (knowingly or unknowly). It is not written on the face and I think the figure is underestimated. My heart bleed for this generation.

henryik2009 said...

If only we had "bought" earlier,it would not have reached epidemic proportion.What a tragedy.
*Please check out my blog:
http://henryik2009.wordpress.com
Please leave a comment.

You are not buying it?I tremble and fear for ignorance. no wonder the disease has taken over the world because some ignorant human being are not buying it.SMH

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

Our small center here in Sokoto don dey approach 3,000 patients and increasing by 10 - 20 new patients daily. Believe am oh and SPREAD THE WORD!

buy valium online buy diazepam generic valium - 5mg valium compared 2mg xanax