Anonymous couple pays N5.5m for Adekeye’s brain surgery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 December 2010

Anonymous couple pays N5.5m for Adekeye’s brain surgery

Rahmat Adekeye
Help has finally come the way of 29-year-old Rahmat Adekeye, the lady, who was diagnosed with Arnold-Chiari Malformation Type 1, also known as congenital malformation of the brain. An anonymous Nigerian couple, who read about her plight in Punch Metro when it was published on November 18, had paid €26,500 (N5.5m) required for a surgery at a German Hospital, Universitatmedizin Der Johannes, Gutenberg.

The unknown couple, who had earlier promised to pay the money, fulfilled their promise on Tuesday. It was gathered that the elderly couple, who runs a philanthropic organisation, got in touch with the German hospital and being satisfied with the genuineness of Adekeye’s case, directly sent the money to the hospital.
An elated Adekeye told our correspondent on the telephone on Wednesday that the hospital had contacted her uncle, who resides in Germany, to acknowledge the receipt of the money.

She said, “My uncle called me this morning (Wednesday) that the anonymous Nigerian couple had sent the money to the hospital. My uncle was the one that got in touch with the hospital and he has all my medical records. So, immediately the money was paid, the hospital got in touch with him to inform him about the payment.
“I don‘t know the couple. But they are elderly and they are philanthropists. After reading about my story, they did not even get in touch with me. Rather, a woman, who works for them, was the one that was calling me on the telephone on their behalf. She said her boss read about my story and wanted to help me. They now got in touch with the hospital.

“The money did not pass through me at all. I am very happy at this uncommon gesture. It is my prayer that God will replenish them. The woman, who was calling on me on the phone refused to reveal their identities.
“I am also touched by the gesture of some Nigerians that also sent money into my account. People were so touched to the extent that some even sent N500 to me. I really appreciate everybody.”
Although no specific date has been given, Adekeye will undergo craniotomy, also known as “2nd revision surgery” at the hospital in December.

The hospital said the surgery would cost N5.5m but it added, “Any extensions in the length of an impatient stay or further diagnostic and treatment measures may entail additional costs, we have to add a risk surcharge of 30 per cent on the general treatment rate, which we will refund if not needed to cover our costs. A fee of eight per cent of the DGR–price is to be paid for additional organisation and coordination.”
She, however, said while the payment of the surgical operation was a major relief, she still needed to travel the additional money the hospital advised her to bring along, adding that in all, she might need about N10m for the surgery.

Adekeye, a 2008 graduate of Food Science Technology from Yaba College of Technology, was born with a malfunctioned brain. But it took 25 years before she was properly diagnosed of the ailment by Nigerian doctors due to lack of modern medical equipment in the country.
Her ailment was properly diagnosed for the first time as congenital malformation of the brain after she had Magnetic Resonance Imaging at the University College Hospital, Ibadan, Oyo State, in 2006.

5 comments:

Domkatbali said...

4 the Anonymous Couple wey help Adekeye's brain surgery; may Baba God Jehova Shammah bless & keep una in Jesus name Amen!
Una no go lack..na so so blessing go dey come una wey 4rm 2day..una go live long live..peace plus prosperity go follow una all de dayzs wey una go live here on earth..Amen!

God bless u Adeyeke!

There are still angels out there! God bless the couple!

angel said...

u guys are the best,with tears in my eyes,i pray that the almighty God shall always grant u with steady joy n happines,dis is wht it is,not makin noise abt it,dis is wonderful,God shall reward u,luv u both

tplusf said...

she is indeed lucky and blessed to have philanthropist to come to her aid...
May God continue to bless the anonymous couple (amen)

GOD bless the couples & they shall always be met in their own hour of need. IJN. Amen.

p.s....i pray the money would be used judiciously without relations, & unscrupulous people try to take their own 'share' from there in the pretense of trying to 'help!'

As for Adekeye, am happy for you & the ANGELS of GOD will be with you throughout your trips & surgery, in JESUS NAME..amin.