Pic of pastor Kumuyi and his new wife. Explains why he re-married | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 October 2010

Pic of pastor Kumuyi and his new wife. Explains why he re-married

Kumuyi and his 65year old new wife, Esther

General Superintendent of the Deeper Christian Life Ministry, Pastor William Kumuyi took a new wife last week in London. When the news broke, it sparked mixed reactions. While some felt it was in order, not a few wondered why the 71-year old cleric needed a new wife.

Dressed in a modest suit, Pastor William Kumuyi and Esther Blaize, clad in a pink and purple skirt suit, exchanged the marriage vow last Wednesday. Guests were later ushered into the Crowne Plaza Hotel, London for a reception ceremony. And just like that, the General Superintendent of the Deeper Christian Life Ministry got married for the second time. Two days ago, key leaders of the church across the country, who were not privileged to attend the modest ceremony, were made to watch the video of the proceedings.

Pastor Kumuyi lost his first wife, Biodun on April 11 last year. He took the news with calm. He even went on to handle the convention and shocked many by preaching at the funeral of his late wife. 

At the time of her death, Kumuyi was 70 years old. When asked last year if he was going to take a new wife, he said it was too early to think of that. With his age, not a few also thought he might just stay unmarried for the rest of his life.

A statement by  the church yesterday said Kumuyi’s decision to remarry was not entirely his. The statement  endorsed on his behalf by the church’s Secretary, Pastor L Nnadozie said his marriage to Esther sparked joy and spontaneous happiness among members of the church.

The statement reads: “Pastor Kumuyi had lost his wife, Biodun in April last year. The death of the woman affectionately called ‘mummy’ or ‘mama’ by members of the church, became a cause for concern for leaders in the church as she was almost inseparable from her husband. The church leaders were so concerned that the pastor must not remain lonely, that they led a delegation to encourage him to begin praying to God to give him another wife. The leaders also began praying for their pastor to get another partner. Although initially reluctant, Pastor Kumuyi later prayed and testified to the leaders that God had answered their prayers. This is what culminated in the marriage ceremony in London.”

The statement revealed that the new wife, whose other names are Folashade Aduke, is the National and International Woman Co-odinator of the church.  She is 65. And wait for this: she was never married, because, according to Nnadozie, she committed her life to the Lord.

Source: The Nation

24 comments:

congrats to him. Even our Lord God said: 'It is not good for man to be alone'

Myne said...

They look very happy together, good luck to them and may they have a blessed marriage.

NINA said...

he has redeemed himself by at least marrying someone in his age group

Truthful said...

I kinda like it that he married a woman within his age bracket. A lot of old men nowadays go for a lot younger women.

Oh God this is awesome. I am so happy for the both
wendu

Although i am not a great fan of pastor kumuyi; but i can say that i love this move because it is in order.this is how i feel it should be;marrying somebody of his age bracket;that is not ready to come and start having babies to compete with the his other children from his late wife;but one that is mature to be a mother for them all.this is what i had expected pastor odukoya to have done instead of him going to marry a spinster;leaving his motherless kids to begin to scramble for his attention(just my thought sha!!!!)

'she was never married ecause she committed her life to the Lord' Nawaooo! So what about now, has the commitment expired! Soon Rev Fathers will denounce their celibacy vows at the attainment of 65 years to be married. It is easier to commit your life to serving the Lord when there is no man to commit your life to!

Kevin Obosi said...

She looks like a 'tranny'...

chidinma said...

Are People so gullible to believe this trash statement released by the so called church elders. That they took the hand of a full grown man and led him to marry at age 71!!! Mr Kumuyi should stand by his decision and accept responsibility for his choices. Nobody has the right to judge him but he should not hide behind others for what he decides to do

Uche said...

What is this nonsense that people say about the Lord saying 'It is not good for man to be alone'. Well let me give you mine-Everyone should read 1st corinthians 7 before typing in utter rubbish.
Anyways, what happens to enjoying the company of one's children especially when blessed with a few and grand children especailly at the age of 70. I rest my case.

Surprise said...

Man of God, congrats. You have taken the best decision. May The Almighy God continue to strenghten you, give you more anoiting, continue to do great and mighty things through you, use you for signs and wonders IJN, amen.

wow

Fomsky said...

Quite interesting!

helo!Pastor Kumuyi is not 71. He's 69.he was born 1941.pls correct that.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

why the explanation? he doesn't need our validation.

skankmypeaceofmind .... he sure doesn't need your validation. WHO ARE YOU?
Kevin, she looks like a tranny? Really she does? I guess you have been watching the wrong porn movies.
It's his business, It's his decision with God's endorsement I would say knowing this man. So anyone who disagrees with his decision should go pray on expressway.

Dan said...

i really wish his followers will follow his foot steps and live life the way he's living it. i hope they will come out of their over religious atittude and live free.

Surprise said...

@Uche...The 1 corithians 7 you quoted justifies his decision to remarry. Look versee 7 and 8 of the Chapter you quoted, you will understand better.

Dokun said...

I honestly did not expect him to re-marry at 69 or 71. Maybe I don't know how it feels to be a widower at that age; but if it makes him happy, why not?

really!!pls for hw long have they known themselves and worked together?just asking ooo!!
and plss lets pray hard ,pastor's wife don too die for dis country.it will be interesting to get people's reaction if a pastor dies and his wife remarries..

They look very happy and I am very happy for them.

ChiChiLuv said...

God bless them, jare! Do you Pastor Kumuyi, body no be fire wood jo! I agree with Nina and Truthful, I love that he married someone within his age group.

I do have to say though, I hate that "I am a born again" look, there is nothing wrong is looking nice, some powder, mascara and lip gloss ain't never hurt nobody! A person doesn't have to look like a woman of the night with hot red lipsticks but a little face lotion, shape those eye brows and clear lip gloss sef, abeg.

God is a God who appreciates beauty and color, look at the rainbow, the flowers, the birds etc. I think people think because they have given their lives to Christ, that means looking plain, dour and miserable and personally I think that actually can drive people away from the church, who wants to belong to a group where everyone always looks like they are in mourning. Isn't salvation accompanied by a deep joy that should be reflected on a person?

My own two rusty kobos, if you don't like my opinion, please keep sailing onto other comments especially if you can't state your opposition without being demeaning and insulting!

emarketstrategy said...

AT-LEAST THIS MARRAIGE DIFFERS FROM THE ODUKOYA TYPE...
SHE'S OLD, MEANING HE'S NOT LUSTING BUT JUST NEEDED A COMPANION...
HAVE FUN PASTOR.

Bo said...

Dang People are so judgmental!
Those saying he should hang with his kids should please tell me how long they spend with their parents especially with their own kids and spouses. If you still spend all your time with your parents then your marriage is in jeopardy!

Companionship is very important, your fears, your hopes your dreams your happiness need to be shared with someone who can relate and will share theirs with you. At any age! A problem shared is halved. Happiness shared is multiplied.

I know nothing about them, but wish them all the happiness in the world for their time left on this earth.