Topic of the day: Is it OK to use God's name for comedy? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 August 2010

Topic of the day: Is it OK to use God's name for comedy?

Some people want Naija comedians to stop using God's name to entertain their crowd. They think they are being disrespectful and making a mess of His name in the name of comedy by telling 'God, Jesus' jokes.

For example, a Naija comedian made a joke recently. He said - after Peter cut off someone's ear, Jesus Christ fixed it back then Peter said - baba J, abeg make we take am dey do businees naa. Then baba J say make peter dey cut ears, them go dey collect N50.00 to fix each ear back, then baba J come tell God make He send power...blah, blah, blah...something to that effect.

What do you think? Should comedians stop using God's name in their jokes or it's no biggie?
Pls share your thoughts
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

17 comments:

why does this guy cover his mic with white handkerchief..is that juju thing to make people like him or wat.

Joohls said...

the problem with comedians is that they think EVERY joke is funny. i mean the example you gave first of all is not even funny and a lot of Christians will definitely find it off-putting. they can never try that nonsense with muslims. that comedian will probably be dead the next day. so no, it is not OK to trivialize scriptures and make it into a tasteless joke. let them go out more. why ali baba became so popular was his ability to make clean, non-offensive jokes. they ought to know where to draw the line

Enitan said...

people need to calm the hell down, goodness! if it offends you, don't listen abi!

hiss! the problem with Nigerians, there are other more relevant issues to complain about, abeg carry go

it is really really offensive and disrespectful to God..i find it especially bad taste that one comedian uses Alleluyah(a heavenly language used to praise God by christians)at every pause in his jokes! pls!pls! it depicts mockery and must be stoppped!

Tee :) said...

not cool.

Nina said...

i TOTALLY AGREE WITH JOOHLS...THIS NIJA ARTISTES HAVE NO FILTER...THEY ARE SO CRASS, DISRESPECTFUL, TOTALLY NOT FUNNY, AND VERY ANNOYINGLY ROUGH AROUND THE EDGES!!!...HOW DARE THEY MAKE JOKES IN GODS NAME??? HAVE THEY GONE MAD???NIJA IS A RELIGIOUS COUNTRY AND WE HAVE IMMENSE RESPECT FOR GOD...WHERE DOES THE CRAZINESS STOP...THAT IS OUR PROBLEM IN NIJA..ONCE WE COPY SOMETHING FROM THE WESTERN WORLD...NIJAS TAKE IT TO THE LOWEST LEVEL AND OVERDO IT!!!...THIS CAN BE SEEN IN OUR FASHION SENSE WHERE GROWN AND FAT WOMEN WALK AROUND ALMOST NAKED...THEY WILL NEVER TRY IT WITH MUSLIMS AS JOOHLS SAID BCOS THEIR HEADS WILL BE CUT OFF PERIOD!!! STOP THE CRAZINESS AND DONT INCUR THE WRATH OF GOD!!!!!!!!!!

thats the point of comedy, if you are easily offended your not meant to go to these shows, talented comedians can make any aspect of life funny, including religion, if you take yours too seriously you shouldnt listen to them. In order to enjoy life on emust relax and not get hypertensive over every little thing; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w7yJ3fOatc&feature=related

probably the best scripture manipulation ever!

And jokes about people with speech deficiency (i.e. those that stammer) is sooooo not funny. But it seems to be another favourite of the comedians.
Somebody needs to enlighten them about disability and the stigma that comes with been or having a disability.

Certain things are and should be of limit.

Myne said...

If people are not laughing, they won't continue. Shikena

chinwe said...

i particularly find comedians like "I go die very razz" and i would never go to their shows. their jokes are usually merely a mockery of the disabled or some other group of people or some tasteless scripture manipulation. they are making quite some money now so they're probably not bothering to develop themselves. christianity is an easy target. why don't they make a joke about muslims or mohammed as joohls said. the fact is that comedians are too lazy to think about really good jokes. all we get are recycled crap which they easily sell to their unthinking followers. those of you who actually find it funny need to get out more. it is poor quality comedy.

what do u expect frm poor wretched street boys who never thought they would ever make it in life except thru dry and stupid jokes targetted at the disabled people in our society.i for one dont find their insensitiveness funny.well i dont blame them,that is how most of them were brought up.most of them never went to school which is why they tell their so called jokes in pidgen english.

Enitan & anon 5:23...e be like say something dey worry una. I'd like to see the look on your faces and how you'd feel if you heard 'I go die' using your papa name and surname take crack joke. It is NOT cool at all and definitely not funny. Abeg be realistic and true to yasefs. *side eye*...

NO, IT IS DISRESPECTFUL TO GOD & IT IS NOT FUNNY!!!

Tatababe said...

I think Myne said it best!

skankmypeaceofmind said...

all these freaks that call themselves BORN AGAIN CHRISTIANS.

YES, it is OK. for God's sakes, our constitution gives us the right to FREEDOM OF SPEECH/EXPRESSION. which means that we can say whatever the hell we want.

if these "Christians" don't like it then they should not listen to it after all isn't it the same bible that said that IF ANY PART OF YOUR BODY CAUSES YOU TO SIN, YOU SHOULD CUT IT OFF? so if they don't like it, they shouldn't listen.

this country isn't a religious state. so anybody can do or say whatever they want. even if its bad...that is why we have the law.
if you go against it, then you'd reap the consequences.
simple.

by the way that joke isn't funny at all.

brown said...

na waohhhh o

Defensive Driving is essentially driving in a technique that utilizes proper driving strategies to enables motorists to address identified hazards in a reasonably sure manner.
These strategies go immeasurably beyond instruction on essential above laws and procedures.

With defensive driving classes, students learn to improve their driving skills via reducing their driving risks by anticipating situations and making secure well-informed decisions.
Such decisions are implemented based on procedure and environmental conditions present when completing a shielded driving maneuver.
The benefits of compelling a defensive driving pedigree vary with each state, but usually comprehend a reduction of points on your driver’s accredit following a ticket and the insurance that insurance rates will not increase.
In some states, taking a [url=http://www.floridatrafficinstitute.com] florida traffic school [/url] class can mean a reduction of up to 10% in your indemnity rates into a full stop of three to five years.
Well-grounded as the benefits of defensive driving classes reshape with each submit, so do the requirements. While most central defensive driving classes are four hours extended, some can be as extensive as six or eight hours.

In some states, students own the choice to take defensive driving courses online or by means of watching a video spool or DVD, while other states barely authorize students to take defensive driving in a classroom setting.
The contents of a defensive driving advance are regulated at near each state and are designed to exercise you based on the laws of your state. In spite of that, most defensive driving classes hold back alike resemble information.

Losses from above crashes have both social and personal impacts.
Take 41,000 die annually as a sequel of traffic collisions, with an additional 3,236,000 injuries.
To 38% of all harmful pile crashes are demon rum related with another 30% attributed to speeding.

The causes of these crashes, enthusiastic weight and cost in dollars drained on passenger car crashes are typically covered in defensive driving courses.
The purpose of good defensive driving is to restrict the gamble of these accidents nigh properly educating students to exert caution and good judgment while driving.

On the roadways, drivers partake of to take care of with different factors that can strike their driving.
However some of them are beyond the control of the driver, mental factors can be controlled by the driver if he knows what to look on and how to pat it.

Defensive driving courses tend to cynosure clear on how drivers can vanquish opposing negatively intellectual factors such as unneeded stress, languor, wild pain and other interrelated issues.
The florida movement kind courses will forbear you erase points from your license. Additional tidings want be posted at a later date.