Naomi Campbell admits receiving 'Blood Diamonds' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 August 2010

Naomi Campbell admits receiving 'Blood Diamonds'

"I was sleeping and heard a knock at the door that woke me up. Two men were there and they gave me a pouch and said 'A gift for you'. I went back to bed. I looked into the pouch the next morning, I saw a few stones, they were very small, dirty looking stones. I'm used to seeing diamonds in a box. If someone had not said they were diamonds, I would not have known they were diamonds" Naomi Campbell told the UN Special Court for Sierra Leone in The Hague this morning.

Linking Charles Taylor to illegal "blood diamonds" is key to the prosecution's case but Naomi said she had no proof that the stones she received that night were diamonds or came from Mr Taylor, as a fellow guest (Mia Farrow) suggested.

First, how can you open your door to men 'you don't know? And second, how can you collect a 'gift' without asking who it's from?
SMH!
I hear she's been dismissed as a witness. Good for her!

Read more
------------------------------------------------------------------------

6 comments:

supermodel=supermumu
just goes to show you that some people are not interested in anything but themselves! and the funny thing is she has been denying this all along!

nonye said...

Total hogwash!!! I thought she denied receiving anything when Mia Farrow said it? Now its that she received some 'dirty looking stones' but she doesn't know who they came from. This woman is yet to take responsibility for her actions.

She is not a mumu but someone that doesn't want to get involved in the trial of a man that is accused to have killed and maimed thousands of people. What if his supporters harm her and her family because she appeared to testify? Would you be there to rescue her family. Also, when she received the diamonds, she was a guest at a friends house so that is why she opened her door and when she wa gifted the diamonds by two mystery men she was probably too scared to say no especially being a woman. By the way, she never kept the diamonds, but gave it to Nelson Mandela's charity manager who admits to having the diamond to this day. So, she never made use of the diamonds.

Joohls said...

Anonymous 2:44am, you have just confirmed why she is a mumu. she doesnt have to get involved. i watched an interview where she said "I did NOT receive anything from anybody". this is a serious trial, she should have quietly said all this while that she gave the diamonds to mr whats-his-name. they had to summon her all the way for her to tell the truth. where are his supporters that are going to harm her? why didnt they harm other people. she's just full herself. what she said in that court, she would have said a long time ago and the case could have gone on peacefully. stop defending people that don't need your defence.

I am not sure exactly what the prosecutors are trying to prove summoning naomi campbell as a witness- they don't need her testimony to prove that charles taylor contributed to the war in sierra leone- they only need to look at all the other evidence- mind you, Taylor was not the only person to benefit from the war in Liberia- Lebanese merchants, European gemstone cutters, Nigerians, even Sierra Leoans themselves, etc, all got their hands on Sierra Leone and Liberia's so-called blood diamonds and it is a very difficult claim to prove that Taylor's actions caused the war in Sierra Leone- we must also look at the country's history and socio-political structure.

Race Equality Secret Service said...

WHITE POWER BLACK BLOOD

BNP (Black National Party)

The BNP (Black National Party) has been created to expedite the work of the Race Equality Secret Service (RESS).

The BNP (Black National Party) gets stronger as "STORMFRONT" gets weaker.

http://raceequalitysecretservice.blogspot.com/2010/02/bnp-black-national-party.html