Banky W | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 26 February 2010

Banky W

I only just discovered this and thought to share...

After complaining about shoulder pains a routine check up revealed he had a tumor, a tumor the size of a baseball was removed and tested; he was diagnosed with cancer. Everything seemed to be going his way until he was put to test again. Another cancerous tumor grew in the same spot, the doctors said he wouldn’t make it but his faith and belief in God kept him strong. Another operation another tumor but Banky W is back and stronger than ever.

You can read the full article here...http://www.isound.com/banky_w

After chemotherapy, he started wearing hats. I guess that explains it all...
Love him, love his music...

32 comments:

Gossip girl ABJ said...

Eheh! y'all shoulda said something na? hope he's gonna b aight. Now i feel like shit for hating on all the hats.

sad...
but come oo linda
r u tryna justify d bathroom durag????
dis his music must be touchin anoda thin we dunno,lol

he's very alrite wi d head,but i guess we all have our insecurities..
xox

Admin said...

yeah heard that before when he was interviewed,but thank God he is good now

NaijaScorpio said...

I hope he is fully okay now, but that doesn't explain everything, esp the durag in a shower photo. It's not like he's a woman and can't be seen without hair or something.

I think u just like the dude and u r making excuses for his blunder. It's okay, i like him too, so i'll look the other way and forget i ever saw that picture.

so sorry he went through all that....but his pictures with the durag are still a hot mess...the threesome picture was rather irrelevant...esp in a country where HIV/AIds is not under control and people dont have easy access to anti retroviral drugs

I am happy you shared this... I hope people will learn never to judge because things aren't always what they seem (as they are doing with Nike Osinowo & co. People smile but they are going through a lot. I hope all those people that were taunting him for his cap wearing would be ashamed of themselves.

Oh bless him!

Mscheew!this is so sad!I'm praying for him all the way.. Wish him the best.. He has such talent..
You haven't replied my mails.. too busy?
www.askchacha4free.blogspot.com

He has always worn his hats, even before the chemo. He has said several times that his head is huge and he's self-conscious.

Myne said...

Baldness is not bad, he doesn't really need the hats and worse the do-rag.

Linda please can you remove all these annoying ads that pop up. thank you.

I think annual sponsorships by companies for your blog might be better idea...:)

all love

Aww! Love him still!

bella said...

Its a pity oo for such a talent to waste.i dont know why bad things happen to good people,well it all goes down to the saying, you cant have it all in life. I believe his faith and hope will pull him through this difficult times.His fans will be praying for him.

Aribaba said...

Makes a lot of sense

@UdegbunamChuks said...

So that's where the durag originated. Pele oh but i believe he can still find a style that will make him look hot without that durag thingy.

I'm thinking how's about he dumps those penciled beards. It might work with the baldness oh!

It is well with you bros ;). AMEN

wienna said...

What a brave man. All the people wey dey yab am about his receding hairline, i hope you go ask God for forgiveness.

should be singing songs of praise

preye said...

aww i never knew he had cancer. wow. he is really brave. i guess now ppl know why he is always covering his head. that's sad. cancer is bad oh.

F said...

I had heard of his health issues but didn't connect it with his love for hats... I guess it makes sense now... I can't imagine what it must be like to go through that twice...

By the way, I was going through old episodes of Funmi Iyanda's New Dawn and I saw the one with you and Frank Osodi. You were so on point- both in terms of your appearance and argument. A lot of stuff that is wrong with Africa involves Africans themselves. If we don't prove our worth, how do we expect others to take us seriously?

Ok..feel sorry for him.However, wearing a durag in the shower is still a faux pas.

U are a strong guy. the lord is your strenght. He has healed you and this will never come back again.Amen

Linda Ikeji said...

@2cute4u
sweetie, what mail? pls re-send

O.M.G, now I feel really bad for going hard on him about his swag. Ok, I'll put that in mind. Banky W, I'm sorry to hear that, and I hope you will continue to feel better. I agree, sometimes, you don't even know what people are going through. I'm sure, he thought the photoshoot was sexy, but too bad, nobody was feeling it. You and your crew should try something creative, and original next time. Don't try too hard, just be yourself.

ibiluv said...

so that is the reason for his hats???

its now kinda his signature look

i love his music and he's a cutie

i prefer my men bald sef so he can jettison the hats jare

disclaimer-i have no intention to sink my claws into him........

Wild Boy said...

Pity...but you know all that Tyra banks shit about less being more? The bald look is definitely better for him. The durag once in a while, but this is far way too cool. speedy recovery dude.

kechy said...

i already knew. he said it on moments with mo. that's why he's always on hats and head rags due to the chemo therapy. he's hair might have fallen off during the treatment. though it'll take time the hair will definitely grow unless the chemicals have destroyed his hair follicles which i seriously doubt.

I read it several months ago somewhere. It's no big deal. It can happen to anybody. That's not why he shaves his hair? After the treatment, the hair grows back.

oh, so this is where we are suppose to cry abi?

He is a cancer "SURVIVOR" meaning he doesn't have cancer anymore. He's in remission. He is healthy and well. So, stop feeling bad abt the comments you made.......fire on. And he knows the durag bathroom scene was nasty.

SOLA said...

U see!! Awww.... I can't stop loving this guy!!
I pray your healing is permanent in Jesus name, Banky.....

It's well with you.

Rmemba I insisted Banky rocks with or without a head gear....

wow..you'd never know..

If Banky's cancer is in remission, i wld suggest that he takes it easy with his gruelling concert performances. We don't want to lose him o. He is so fiiiine. Lol, *blushing*