Gani Fawehinmi's Farewell | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 September 2009

Gani Fawehinmi's Farewell

Chief Gani Fawehinmi. 1938 - 2009
The remains of Chief Fawehinmi was not buried according to Islamic rites the same day he died. That's because the late legal icon left instruction that his burial should be well planned and should also be elaborate. And they are really giving him a well deserved burial. He will be buried this week in his home town.

While driving past Ikorodu road around noon on Friday September 11th, I witnessed the rally organised by the Labour leaders in honour of the late Chief Gani Fawehinmi. I saw him in his transparent casket. We were in traffic so we had enough time to really look. It was such a surreal moment for me.
Check out other activities...

Cultural dance during a Farewell tribute in honour of Late Chief Gani Fawehinmi organised by Lagos State Government some days ago at the Police College, Ikeja, Lagos.

Lying in state

L-R Ganiat Fawehinmi Wife, Mohammed son, and daughter, Mrs Basirat Biobaku Nee Fawehinmi.

Mourners at his Ikeja residence

Beggers arriving at his residence

Signing the condolence register...

Ganiat Fawehinmi (r) with Falilat Adewale, elder sister of the late Gani

Cross section of Lawyers at the Court Session 4 Gani.

May his soul rest in peace. Amen!

Photos thanks to Idowu Ogunleye of PM News.

11 comments:

we've lost another one

Admin said...

baba rest in peace

BLAST MODE! said...

Not to sound ignorant Ganni, was a big icon in the nigerian community but did they have to hold all this big burial ceremony, were they changed his clothes in his casket three times as a muslim that is very very uncalled for....... the man is dead and should be buried according to the muslim custom and not owambe way..

Myne said...

may his soul rip

May his soul trully rest in peace.........i pray

geez...they actually showed the corpse?i bow for naija o...:-(

@ Blast Mode...I'm sure the family is not complaining. They agreed to it didn't they?

@BLAST MODE:
Did you read what Linda wrote at all? The man asked for a well planned and elaborate burial ceremony irrespective of his religion and thats what he got.

RIP Gani.....

histreasure said...

well, a man's got right right to make provisions as to what happens after he has passed and if this was his wishes then it has to be adhered to..i was surprised at first cos i knew he was a muslim but he deserves the kind of burial he's getting sha..

OMG, I'm scared to look at dead people, and his casket is transparent too. Nigerians do everything big, even burial. I remember going to Nigeria with my father for the first time, for my grandmother's burial ceremony. The casket was open, and my grandmother was dressed up in this extravagant outfit like something she will wear if she was going to a wedding or a ceremony. I kid you not, that was my first time been expose to that, so it was odd to me. She was placed in a room next to where I stayed with my aunt. I still have nightmares till today.

idiom respironics hands nbsigthe packager concrete drug tonnage austrian narcotics meaningless
masimundus semikonecolori