Fashion: One little black dress - 31 ways to wear it | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 September 2009

Fashion: One little black dress - 31 ways to wear it

One woman wears one 'little black dress' all month.

Last month, Valerie Elizabeth subjected herself to any good fashionista's nightmare: She got up every morning and put on the same dress. The Dallas stylist wanted to show how easy it is to look glamorous on a budget. She aimed to have a new look each day with one little black dress and some creative accessories — belts, shoes, scarves, jewelry and even jeans.

Elizabeth said her "Little Black Dress Experiment," which she documented at societystylist.com, helps her reach more people with the advice she's found herself giving women on a budget: take a good look in your closet and get creative with the pieces you already have.

Check out how she did it...

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

Day 9

Day 10

Day 11

Day 12

Day 13

Day 14

Day 15

Day 16
Day 17

Day 18

Day 19

Day 20

Day 21
Day 22

Day 23

Day 24

Day 25

Day 26

Day 27

Day 28

Day 29

Day 30
Wow, some people are really talented.
But do you think she really pulled it off? And what's your favourite look?

14 comments:

Ms. 'dufa said...

Yeah she did! Day 9 was just IT for me!

t04051 said...

She sure did!!! But you know what? Accessories don't cost that much less or more than clothes... If you can buy that many accessories, you can buy that many clothes.

oo yes she very much did

Shadenonconform said...

That's great. Good way(s) to accessorize the same outfit. But personally, i would have gotten bored of the dress by day 3:).

Nonetheless, love her ingenuity. Definitely learnt something new.

Pity, i never buy any accessories. but it got tiring, i magine how many jackets she wore der

yeah right??
she must have spent a fortune on the accessories!!! those killer shoes n bags etc!!

I agree Day 9 is ingenious but how did she get the short top she wore with her trousers? Is her black dress actually a top and a skirt. Somebody tell me

Myne said...

If all those designer purses, belts and jackets are on a budget too, then I need too call her. But very nice combos, well done her.

she is a dirty pig what ever happened to hyiene

Sasha said...

@anon 3.44pm- You are obviously daft. Haven't you heard of a washer and dryer?...

@ anon 6:47 loooooool you are funny. Why so mean?

ope said...

sasha you think she actually washed that dress 29x!yeah right!!I dont think she was that creative...she was just throwing jacket on d thing..anyonw can do that!!!!!yeah crucify me for my comment

at ope do u wash ur clothes every day? No... exactly i dint think soo.. she's trying to show how to wear the same cloths but with diff style.. and stop insulting the lady @ ano 3:44.. i love day 9 and day 20

I completely agree with Ope, i dnt see anything spectacular in wot she did, she just wore diff jackets on it....abeg she should go n sit down.