My Complexion + Mr/Miss Unilag 2008 in Pictures | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 August 2008

My Complexion + Mr/Miss Unilag 2008 in Pictures

Hi people, what's going on? I woke up around 10:45 am today. Can you believe that? I haven't done that in so long...quite refreshing.

So now I'm sitting in front of my computer wondering what to blog about...I have no clue...lol

You guys have to help me from now on. If you have stories, pictures, breaking news...whatever, pls send it to me via email so I can share it here...

Meanwhile I need some expert advice. I think I have a fairly nice skin. I don't break out, no pimples, blackheads, dark spots etc. I don't use moisturisers, toners or facial cleansers. I don't have the patience for it...lol. I just take my bath, put on my clothes and I'm out. That's not a nice thing for a woman to say huh? Well, that's who I am. I find it a little tiresome going through the ritual of cleansing, mositurising...and all the works. I've tried a few times to do it but after a week or so, I give it up.

But I'm going on TV soon and I want a clearer, brighter, smoother skin.
Like Rihanna's skin...can I achieve this?
I'm dreaming huh? lol

Seriously what can I do to make my skin better and smoother? What can you recommend? Help a sister out...and I promise to judiciously follow whatever ritual you recommend...

While you're thinking about that, here are pictures from Mr/Miss Unilag 2008 Beauty Pageant that held on Tuesday August 26th at the School's Sports Center...
Didn't bother to arrange the pictures but enjoy...

The winner of Miss Unilag and Dr Pat Agboro

The contestants

Cossy Orjiakor, that's me on the side she's smiling at...
lol...

Cossy, myself and designer Steve Ray (judges at the pageant)

Jazz singer, Toba Gold and the Dean of Student's Affairs

Mr and Miss Unilag

The contestants in casuals...

The winner of Mr Unilag, Danmola and Weird MC

Cossy and 3rd runner up, Francis

2nd runner-up, Miss Unilag and 1st runner-up

The top 5...cute guys.

That's it. Whaddayathink?

38 comments:

The show looked interesting, but what's with the ugly dresses?

Hi GF (I hope!),
You are simply amazing, keep it up!! Contact a professional dermatologist before u try anything on that beautiful face/skin of yours, please. I have a phobia for most products cause many are 'expensive harsh chemicals'. With a dermatologist, you will get the best options available for our weather and your skin type.
Meanwhile, raw (real) honey does wonders for all skin types. Rub on before taking your bathe and mix somein ur fav cream too.
Have a swell time and remember that haters are simply that...haters.

U sure u are in that picture with Cossy? All I could see were her *edge of* paradise. What happened to her decision (in 2007 or thereabout)to leave more things to our imagination?
We love her now and will definitely love her more if her paradise is closely guarded ( we can't stand them tom, dick and harry who don't have any business in Paradise getting a front seat view).
Enjoy your break.

What I think? That someone should buy Cossy some clothes. Over & out

busybee said...

as a fellow chem engr., I have to say Ms ChemE looks hot!!! loving the natural beauty look.
overall, the pagent is a good idea. encouraging working together and healty competition! good job!

Linda please leave your face the way it is oh! i have used all sorts on my face to clear my acne and I can't say anything is really working.. from makari to clinique, now im using prescription stuff with a little progress. my advice, if it ain't broke don't fix it!

have a pleasant weekend!

http://musingsofanaijagirl.blogspot.com/

Rita said...

The Mr/Miss Unilag must have been very entertaining...

For your beautiful skin, i'll suggest you drink more water - it's safe and u are sure there'd be no reactions to it.

abeg linda, take cossy shopping and teach her how to dress decently. she looks like a mature.... from Las Vegas these here big melons look so painful n disgusting. she shld leave more to our imagination, pls.

Linda,
it sounds like you have clear skin already! So before you go in front of the camera's you probably will need the help of an expert make-up artist to give you that glowy/perfect/flawless skin effect. Don't really read into Rihanna's pictures she has a perfect made up face. JL o wouldn't be JLO without her glowy made -up face( she most definetely does not look like that when she wakes up in the morning) Remember whenever you see most of these celebrity pictures they have loads and tons of make-up on. so before you go infront of the camera make sure you hire an expert make-up artist! I hope this helps

for your face i think your should keep it simple, just a facial wash can keep your skin clear.

and... rihanna actually has pimples all over her forehead, i've seen pics of her without makeup, all they have is just a well paid makeup artist.

uniduchess said...

Great pics from the pageant...
Cossy are those boobies on sale? she could slice them up for display at the market....shei! boobs don suffer...

You could use Daily facial cleansing clothes(disposable)....use to swipe off some makeup/sweat at night...that way, you won't have to worry about anything extra in the morning.

Yankeenaijababe said...

I enjoyed the pictures...that was lovely.

@Linda ikeji...don't bother having Rihanna skin except you want to bleach your skin. Check out my YNC blog and there's a post on celebrity bleaching. Enjoy your Naija beauty the way it is...rather focus on keeping your skin healthy and fresh.Cheers!

Yankeenaijababe said...

@Uni...looks like implants to me.lol

The pageant looks kinda razz

Since you do not break out or have pimples, it seems that you are trying to achieve a flawless look on camera. Here are some tips;

In Nigeria, the weather is always hot and people are always sweating, that is a big problem with makeups. If you take a closer look at your face in the photo here, you can see that your face is running. So you need; Oil-Eliminating Astringent, to clean out your face and help keep you makeup on your face without it running. You need a Concealer to even out your skin tone and create a base for your foundation. Use a powder base foundation because it is light weight and shines with a camera light. Use (very lightly) a blush on your cheeks to create a definition and high light your cheek bones. Use outlast lip colours(they are waterproof) and a lipliner to keep you lips in.

Drink lots of water ofcourse and the night before, use Preparation-H all over your face to firm your skin. Bottom line, use all waterproof makeup to keep your face from runnuin when you sweat. And because they are waterproof, they sit on your skin and do not penetrate deep.

Finaly Linda, you have to somehow clean out your face at the end of the day. You have a beautiful skin but the build up from makeup can clog up your pores and then there comes pimples. I model part time and these are my tips. GOOD LUCK!
Mia:)

Chaaaaai....honestly, you mean to say with the over 30 million people we get for naija, na Cossy dem choose to be a judge for the competition. I mean, what kind of example does she want to set dressed up like that in a school?

BTW, Linda baby that dress looks HOT on you. You should've taken a pic, whilst standing as well. I assume it's one of 'free dresses' given to you abi ;).
As for your skin, you need to be cleansing your face, especially for that dirty & dusty Lagos. You need your face refreshed. I'm sure you can go to one of those spas for VI or Ikoyi to have a facial scrub or something. Dem plenty for Lagos, so i've heard.

try and use creams that have moisturizing agents in them .. , because even as u grow older we all need it to remain young and youthful. since your skin does not break out you don't have to do so much . Another fast formula that works well is to use an apricot (scrub) for your face at least 3 / 4 times in a week and when ever u want to appear for something special
Goodluck
wendu
chinwe

sorry o, mana most of the dudes r looking kinda fruity..esp. w/ the tight undies...

and wot in d world is "miss unilag" wearing o!...v. ugly attire

Nma

BTW, linda, dont believe the hype o!
Rhinna, beyonce et all do not have gr8 skin the way it appears on screen...they just have gr8 makeup artists...also, the quality of the camera they use helps alot! N e one who's be on (American)TV will honestly tell u that the camera definitely helps make ur skin flawless and glow!

So, minus the quality camera they use and the heavy makeup they pile up, ur skin just might look better than theirs.

Nma

Jen Juma said...

Photo software too can ligthen skin tones too so what you see might not be the real thing like in Beyonce's Loreal Ad. Google that gist was on E!

Simple skincare regimen, peels and exfoliation for dead skin and ofcourse read magazines for tips and yes, visit spas for natural/raw facials I guess!

this one na typical mgbeke pagent...lemme blame the camera hoping it wasnt really what we see.

Linda Ikeji said...

Thanks for all ur suggestions. really appreciate it.
@wienna, yes thats one of my Rukkies dresses. I have 20 more u havent seen...
leave Cossy aloooooooooone..lol

Pyeri Boy said...

Your skin,
use

www.porselene.com (newest client)

I can have my PR consultant in lagos drop you off a sample.

Email me
bobby@bobbytaylorpr.ca

Use Mary kay cleanser and moisturizer for your skin.

nope u cant achieve rihanna's skin o!!!u be thief!!LOl...rihanna is of some mixed sort!!i know she has a NOT black blood somewhere in her family!!!!just to d whole cleansing, toning, exfoliation and moisturizing everyday!!!u already have good skin

I thought cossy was all covered up now, iv always wondered if shes done some sort of surgery on her face before, has she? anyone. Those boys weak o

Linda,i had from some students in the school that this pagent was rigged and i'm surprised that even with you on the table as one of the judges, u allowed it happen.

The winner i learnt is not even a studebt of unilag, the top 5 guys are models for oteri which is not farfetched because the both of you happen to work together.

Linda honestly i dnt want to think otherwise of you because i visit ur blog all the time. I just want to know if this is true and trust me, u'll gain nothing lying about it.

I also learnt one of the judges left u guys on the table when he found out it was all partial.

I bet u wldn't publish this comment.

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 11:32, lol. Sweetheart, I didnt pick the winners or top anything...
I went as a judge but didnt really judge. I didnt stay till the end of the pageant. I left mid-way, around 10pm and the pageant ended around 1pm. Didnt see most of it.
U say the winners aren't students? why dont u take it up with the school??? It has nothing to do with me...

Linda i didn't mean the top five guys but the winner, he isn't a student.But still the top five too are oteri's models.

As an alumni and one of the judges,i think you can do something about it as in the winner(not the top 5) not being a student.

And how come the runner ups were all oteri's models atleast they could have mixed it up cuz there were guys worth those positions 2.

Linda Ikeji said...

sweetheart, trust me if i was there till the end, things would have been a little different.But i don't want to get involved, why dont u take it up with the school???

@ayo, is this ayot, must be my niece, interesting show, ugly dresses indeed, lol

Thanks Linda.Is just that i'm not a student anymore.My little cousin told me about the pagent that took place in her school and how it was rigged and all that,so i was surprised when u said u were one of the judges. so i decided to ask how and why it all happened cuz i dnt see u being unfair to people.

Anyway thanks for the clarification.
Didn't mean to bother.

oops i already did.lol

Nna..who be this Cossy chick na? Abeg make una tell her she was trashy and not classy at all... with "the twins" abt to pop out like that..Nonsense!!!

Yewande Atanda said...

Miss Unilag...very interesting. I waz there live n enjoyd ma self.
Aunty Linda, gud job.

okay linda first thing is your name is your currency so keep it high. this link may interest you
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmSL64wJEws&NR=1

and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EgZO9dR7kQE&NR=1

enjoy yourself and dont believe all you see in mags. you will never recognise beyounce and others when you see them for real. they are a brand employing loads of people in business so they are well looked after in everyway. image/illusions/manipulation is the name of the game.

most of the words you hear attributed to them were never spoken by them in the first place

www.wetinhappen.com.ng said...

Nice blog you got here. Let me know when you are coming to Uyo, or do I send you an invitation?

please yall leave cossy alone...everbody just likes to judge.
just shut up and live your life...jus the way she's living her's and not judging u

Its happening again, Mr & Miss Unilag 2012(golden jubilee edition)......Powered by Sulcata Ent & List Ent. Its gonna be more fun......

Hello, I enjoy reading through your article.

I like to write a little comment to support you.

Review my blog: Binära Optioner