Chief Oliver De Coque is DEAD! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 June 2008

Chief Oliver De Coque is DEAD!

Highlife King, Chief Oliver De Coque, (born Oliver Sunday Akanite) is dead.

I just got the news from a family member that he died in the wee hours of this morning…around 4am, at R Jolad Hospital in Gbagada.
Cause of death: low blood pressure.
He was 60.

King (Dr.) Chief Oliver de Coque released his first album in 1976 after learning to play music from a Congolese guitarist. Since that time he has released 73 albums which demonstrate his "Ogene" style of Nigerian highlife.

Read more about him here...http://www.onlinenigeria.com/links/coqueadv.asp
May his soul rest in peace…Amen!

Too many people are dying these days; death seems to be looking for the smallest excuse to take people…please let’s all get closer to God…
May we all live to see our children’s children…Amen.

19 comments:

May his soul rest in perfect peace, Amen. Chai, Oliver de Coque of 'ana enwe obodo enwe'

Wow,

I visit your site a couple of mins ago and then come back, what do i see OLIVER DE COQUE IS DEAD!!!! beats me whats happening this days...never figured low blood pressure was just as life threatning as the high one.... o boys""" (i'm wiping sweat off my forehead)

hmmm.seems linda is scard of death..first time i kinda saw u mention God....wearing that outfit u wore to that occasion last week, what side do u think ur on???? heaven or hell???just joking..

love u girl

There is a time and season for everything.A time to be born and a time to die.
The Bible.
May his soul rest in peace.Amen.

littleangel4christ said...

"Let's get closer 2 God"...that's definite!

RIP to a true musician.

However, whenever I hear someone's died in a Nigerian Hospital, i subconsciously find myself debating whether that person would have lived if he/she was in the right environment, if he/she was in a place where human life is sacrosanct,a place where one can be dead sure that everything humanly possible has been done, where accountability reigns supreme, where love is paramount, where the government sees the good welfare of its citizens as its number one priority. I wonder, my mind wanders.

Pete

Tyra!!! said...

What a loss!! First it was Osadebe, then Sunny Okosuns now Oliver De Coque. Na wa o. May his soul rest in Peace.

fendiomoh said...

we need prayers, we're losing some of our best musicians, wat do u think

To say I am sad would be an understatement, truth be told I am distraught, to his family I empathise with them may God strengthen them.
I find it difficult to also comprehend a comment made earlier something along the lines of: to everything there is a time snd season, how can someone be so heartless, I mean he was just sixty! whatever happened to the biblical three scores and ten?
lastly we dont need events like these to bring us close to God we should be close irrespective of the condition we find ourselves. RIP OLIVER
Tara

To the person who thinks a passage from the Holy book is wrong,it would be nice to elaborate what form of heartlessness was being displayed by the comment.Are you saying we wont die at all, or we all should die at 'three scores and ten'? What of children who die before they reach their first birthdays? Or those young people who die in their teens and twenties? How would one address such a loss?
Amen to the prayers you said Linda.

SAD i tell!! it's high tym we all buckle our belts lol!! cos strange tyms are here..may his gentle soul rest in peace..As for we the living!! give praises to the Lord and be grateful for every second,every minute,every hour n every day..

Cos it is by his grace we r still alive n safe..CAN'T BE BETTER

BECKS

Oliver was one of my fav Naija musicians, what happens to highlife as we know it now in Naija: 1st Osadebe, now Oliver, who is left? Morocco??? sigh
Tomorrow isnt guaranteed, give your life to God today, u dont want the father telling you "I dont know you" on judgment day. This life as we know it isnt it, folks dont be fooled at all...there's a greater life ahead. God's ways are mysterious, so we cant question his death at 0 or even the young Naija females we just passed away still in their 20s, but we know that He is God, He gives and He takes!

Memories and a selection of his music HERE:

http://likembe.blogspot.com/2008/07/memories-of-oliver-de-coque.html

Pretty nice site you've got here. Thank you for it. I like such themes and everything connected to them. I definitely want to read a bit more on that blog soon.

Kate Benedict

Pretty interesting site you've got here. Thanks for it. I like such topics and everything connected to this matter. I would like to read a bit more soon.

Avril Simpson
escorts rochester ny

It was extremely interesting for me to read the post. Thanks for it. I like such topics and anything that is connected to this matter. I would like to read a bit more on that blog soon.

Avril Simpson
swiss escort agency

Nice blog as for me. I'd like to read more about that matter. The only thing this blog misses is some photos of some devices.

John Trider
phone signal scrambler

Pretty interesting blog you've got here. Thanks the author for it. I like such themes and anything that is connected to them. I definitely want to read a bit more on that blog soon.
Don't you think design should be changed from time to time?

Bella Swenson
toronto oriental escort

Nice content. When will I get the additional details?

Bella Benedict
west london escort agencies

If you desire to obtain much from this paragraph then you have to apply these strategies to
your won web site.

my web page AC Repair Simi Valley - Simi valley Refrigeration