Tuesday 10 April 2007

GREATEST MOVIE MOBSTERS OF ALL TIME.

1. Don Vito Corleone
Film: The Godfather
Played by: Marlon Brando
With his brooding menace, it's no surprise that the Godfather Corleone is the daddy of them all. The character was modelled on New York mob bosses Frank Costello, who was nicknamed the "Prime Minister of the Mob" for his deft handling of the Cosa Nostra.

2. Tony Montana
Film: Scarface

Played by: Al Pacino

Tony Montana was a Cuban refugee who arrived in America and underwent a meteoric rise to the top of Miami’s criminal underworld. Feared because of his "balls of steel", Montano was willing to kill anyone who gots in his way (except women and kids). Montana lived the American dream, before suffering an equally meteroric fall.

3. Al Capone
Film: The Untouchables

Played by: Robert DeNiro

In third place is Robert DeNiro's powerful portrayal of legendary gangster Al Capone. DeNiro insisted on wearing the same style of silk underwear that Capone wore, even though it would never be seen on camera. The producers, knowing DeNiro's reputation as a "Method" actor, provided the pants.

4. Jules Winnfield
Film: Pulp Fiction

Played by: Samuel L Jackson

In Pulp Fiction, Samuel L Jackson plays Jules, a gun-toting hitman sent out to retrieve and guard a mysterious suitcase on behalf of big boss Marsellus Wallace. After experiencing a "divine intervention", Jules decides to give up the gang lifestyle for good and plans to "wander the earth".

5. Nicky Santoro
Film: Casino

Played by: Joe Pesci

The character of Nicky Santoro was based on real-life mobster Anthony 'The Ant' Spilotro. In the film Santoro is sent to Las Vegas by the bosses to make sure that the wiseguys there are kept in line. Santoro is a loose cannon in every sense of the word. In one savage scene, he stabs a man in the neck with a pen multiple times solely for insulting his friend.

6. Tony Soprano
TV programme: The Sopranos
Played by: James Gandolfini
Despite being volatile and frequently unfaithful to his wife, hotheaded mob boss Tony Soprano is the Britain's sixth favourite film thug.

7. Don Logan
Film: Sexy Beast (2000)

Played by: Ben Kingsley

Nearly 20 years after winning an Academy Award for his role in Gandhi, Ben Kingsley was back to his best as the frightening Don Logan in Sexy Beast. Logan is a crook coming out of retirement for one last heist. Shifting between raving lunatic and cold, calculating schemer, Logan steals the show every time he is on screen.

8. Bill The Butcher
Film: Gangs Of New York (2002)

Played by: Daniel Day-Lewis

The eighth favourite gangster is none other than Bill the Butcher from Gangs Of New York. The character was based on real-life ruffian Bill Poole, who was a member of the Bowery Boys street gang.

9. Reggie Kray
Film: The Krays (1989)

Played by: Martin Kemp

Casting former pop icons Gary and Martin Kemp (of Spandau Ballet) as the notorious Kray twins was a stroke of genius for Peter Medak's gritty film. Martin Kemp in particular stands out as the fearsome Reggie Kray.

10. Bill Guerrard
Film: The Ice Harvest (2005)

Played by: Randy Quaid

In 10th place is Bill Guerrard, the slimy crime lord of 'The Ice Harvest'. As well as running a string of Witchita brothels, Bill also happens to kill people for a living. Not the sort of chap you'd want to meet down a dark alley.

My greatest movie mobster is Marlon Brando's Don Vito Corleone character in the Godfather. I don't know of any other villain more lovable.

By the way, if you haven't seen the movie Alpha Dog, please go watch it. It's based on a true life story about the kidnapping and killing of a 15year old boy by his older brother's friends. The movie is heart-wrenching. A must see! It features Justin Timberlake, Bruce Willis and Sharon Stone

13 comments:

ExcitedJade said...

u're a ownderful lady.. keep up the good works... would really love to meet yah anytime am in naija.

Scarface is my #1 favourite. I still remember watching it when i was in my early teens, it was so scary then, i couldn't sleep for a week. Apparently, Al Pacino used d 'f word' over 20 times in it.

Segedoo said...

linda, how about the last don 1&2 and the sicillian ?

the Godfather trilogy's the best though

I only ever watched scarface so i dont know who these other characters are.. but i'll certainly check em out.. dont remember where i saw your blog link and decided to check you out.. but i like you already.. i'll certainly be back.. have a great week mami

Linda Ikeji said...

@excitedjade.thanks babe!would like to meet u too.are you a blogger?
@segedoo.I havent seen d movies u mentioned.This man where the paintings now?
@overwhelmed.Welcome.Are you also a blogger so I can check out ur space?

HEY, YOU FORGOT ABOUT THIS GREAT MOVIE CALLED "ONCE UPONE A TIME IN AMERICA"... YOU REALLY SOUND LIKE A GREAT LADY TO TAKE TO THE THE MOVIES,ARE U AVAILIABLE, ARE U DATEING ANY LUCKY GUY NOW ? IF NOT I WILL BE IN LAGOS IN 5 DAYS ...CAN WE MEET? GREAT JOB ANYWAY LINDA.

Lol @mikey q, no she can't go out with u nor does she go out with strangers. And yeah, i'm her bodyguard.:) Anyone who wants to chat up dis gem has to go thru me first. LMAO

Linda Ikeji said...

@mikey.my bodyguard has answered u
@wienna.lots of kisses!

ahh com on show a brother some love.your not gay are u...?

I HEARD YOU ARE IN LOVE WITH THIS BIG AMERICAN GUY AT A RADIO STATION IS THAT TRUE?

Linda Ikeji said...

@segedoo.I havnt seen those movies u mentioned. BTW, where's my paintinh this man?

Linda Ikeji said...

@micky q.where did u hear that?

[url=http://vonmertoes.net/][img]http://bariossetos.net/img-add/euro2.jpg[/img][/url]
[b]Software original, [url=http://bariossetos.net/]buy ms office software[/url]
[url=http://bariossetos.net/][/url] download acdsee pro free i buy oem software
uninstall windows vista [url=http://vonmertoes.net/]buy cheap coreldraw graphics suite x4 at low price[/url] adobe acrobat 9 pro download
[url=http://hopresovees.net/]software deals[/url] macromedia software flash fl4about
[url=http://vonmertoes.net/]buy scrabble software[/url] Finale 2009 FileMaker
buy photoshop extended [url=http://bariossetos.net/]software market discount[/b]