DID YOU KNOW? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 April 2007

DID YOU KNOW?

That Charles Taylor faces 11 war crimes and crime against humanity.
*Terrorising civilians: 1 count
*Unlawful killings: 2 counts
*Sexual violence: 3 counts
*Physical violence: 2 counts
*Use of child soldiers: 1 count
*Abductions and forced labour: 1 count
*Looting: 1 count

The word "queue" is the only word in the English language that is still pronounced the same way when the last four letters are removed.

What is called a "French kiss" in the English speaking world is known as an "English kiss" in France.

"Almost" is the longest word in the English language with all the letters in alphabetical order.

Human thigh bones are stronger than concrete.

You can't kill yourself by holding your breath

Right handed people live, on average, nine years longer than left-handed people

One quarter of the bones in your body, are in your feet!

Women blink nearly twice as much as men.

It is impossible to sneeze with your eyes open

The six official languages of the United Nations are: English, French, Arabic, Chinese, Russian and Spanish.

Months that begin on a Sunday will always have a "Friday the 13th."

Coca-Cola would be green if colouring weren’t added to it.

The increased electricity used by modern appliances is causing a shift in the Earth's magnetic field. By the year 2327, the North Pole will be located in mid-Kansas, while the South Pole will be just off the coast of East Africa.

Smearing a small amount of dog feces on an insect bite will relieve the itching and swelling.

The Boeing 747 is capable of flying upside-down if it weren't for the fact that the wings would shear off when trying to roll it over.

The trucking company Elvis Presley worked at as a young man was owned by Frank Sinatra.

Replying more than 100 times to the same piece of spam e-mail will overwhelm the sender's system and interfere with their ability to send any more spam.

Human saliva has a boiling point three times that of regular water.

Among items left behind at Osama bin Laden's headquarters in Afghanistan were 27 issues of Mad Magazine. Al Qaeda members have admitted that bin Laden is reportedly an avid reader.

Due to the angle at which the optic nerve enters the brain, staring at a blue surface during sex greatly increases the intensity of orgasms.

Never hold your nose and cover your mouth when sneezing, as it can blow out your eyeballs.

Close to 3 billion movie tickets are sold in India every year.

In 1888, Hollywood was founded by Harvey and Daeida Wilcox, who named the city after their summer home in Chicago.

In the movie "The Matrix Reloaded" a 17 minute battle scene cost over $40 million to produce.

Karate actually originated in India, but was developed further in China.

Adolf Hitler was Time's Man of the Year for 1938.

After the death of the genius, Albert Einstein, his brain was removed by a pathologist and put in a jar for future study.

Albert Einstein was offered the presidency of Israel in 1952, but he declined.

Alexander Graham Bell, the inventor of the telephone, never telephoned his wife or mother because they were both deaf.

Astronaut Buzz Aldrin's mother's maiden name was "Moon." Buzz was the second man to step onto the Moon in 1969.

Edward VIII did not officially become the King of England as he abdicated the throne to marry an American divorcee.

A jiffy is an actual unit of time for 1/100th of a second. Thus the saying, I will be there in a jiffy.

Ok, let me stop here. There are so many things we all really don't know. Be sure I'm going to bring different parts of this topic to this blog. If you learnt anything new, drop a comment! Ciao!!!

8 comments:

Hmmm...amazing facts there. I've tried sneezing with my eyes opened though. It's still possible to do it without blinking.

ok, I think I will paint my ceilings blue, any idea what shade of blue gives the best result? light, dark, bringt, navy?

Mrs Somebody said...

LINDA IKEJI your blog is truly awesome.
Sure! I learnt something new.I have to look for some blue items to stick all around my room.Thanks girl!!!
YOU RAWK!!!

WHATS WITH THE APPROVED COMMENTS. DID SOMEBOBY SCARE YOU. WHAT ARE YOU AFRAID OF ... YOU FRIENDS WILL PROTECT YOU..AND SO WILL GOD, AMEN ABI?

Linda Ikeji said...

@Mrs somebody.I cant wait to get married so i can get a blue room.BTW u rock too!

Where did you get all these facts from? Awesome!!!

Whaaaat???
WOW!!!
Serious??
No!

These were some of the words going through my mind while I was reading this. There's nothing more to add to this. This is enough for a day

Linda, Linda, Linda, Thanks alot. Now I can rest easier. LOL THE PHANTOM